Sara Jane's Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Excellent cake. Mine also took closer to 50 minutes to bake. I added about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon in addition to the nutmeg. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I can't rate this because it was actually my husband who made it (his first cake!). But I was impressed; it turned out great! The nutmeg stood out more than I expected. I thought it was pretty good, he (not being a fan of oatmeal taste) didn't care too much for it. I would give it 4 stars. I'll probably make it again myself a few times again, as it was a very yummy cold-weather treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Delicious. The cake is so moist and the frosting is heaven! I do prefer cinnamon to nutmeg for the spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
yum yum yum !! I did try variuos adaptations also only improved it. Like using a fruit juice like pineapple,apple etc. Instead of all the boiled water. Enjoy it !!!! I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
A very old favorite recipe! We always used cinnamon rather than nutmeg. My daughter took this recipe, as an assignment, to a Bethesda, MD Junior High cooking class. Her teacher "insisted" that the recipe was wrong and the topping had to be baked rather than broiled - and then gave her a failing grade because the cake was overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This IS yummy. I cut way back on the sugar, though, - 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. And I added cinnamon to the batter and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for about 45 minutes. Some chopped nuts added to the topping were the finishing touch. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This is close to the old Quaker Oats "Sunshine" Cake...which uses 1 C boiling H2O to 1 C Quick Oats, 1 t cinnamon and 1 1/3 C flour with the broiled icing! Alway been a favorite staple at our house from kids thru Grandkids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I was a bit unsure about a cake with soaked oats in it, but that just made me more curious to give it a try. I halved the sugars to half a cup each and also added cinnamon. I was not game enough to try the suggested topping, so made an orange cream cheese frosting instead. Very, very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Great tasting cake, with a caramel flavour. I had to cook mine 10 min extra. Used desicated coconut for topping, but found the topping a little greasy. Next time I'll try the flaked coconut, or use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
This cake was so delicious. Our neighbors came over twice in one day to have some. It did take closer to 50 minutes for it to be done in my oven. I imagine the coconut topping would be great on box yellow or chocolate cakes too when I don't have the time to make the oatmeal cake from scratch, but the cake/topping combination was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States