Sara Jane's Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This cake IS very good, but I'm only giving it 4 stars because the directions are wrong. I checked my cake @ 30 min. (because I never want to overcook anything) and it was pretty far away from being done. Checked it at 35 (like recipe says) still runny, 40 min still not done. I finally took it out after 43 minutes because I hate anything overdone. I wish I'd left it in another five minutes because the middle still wasn't cooked. But the rest of the cake was and with the topping it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This IS yummy. I cut way back on the sugar, though, - 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. And I added cinnamon to the batter and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for about 45 minutes. Some chopped nuts added to the topping were the finishing touch. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
yum yum yum !! I did try variuos adaptations also only improved it. Like using a fruit juice like pineapple,apple etc. Instead of all the boiled water. Enjoy it !!!! I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Delicious. Just cook the topping on top of the stove first, it will thicken up then spread and broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Excellent cake. Mine also took closer to 50 minutes to bake. I added about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon in addition to the nutmeg. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This is close to the old Quaker Oats "Sunshine" Cake...which uses 1 C boiling H2O to 1 C Quick Oats, 1 t cinnamon and 1 1/3 C flour with the broiled icing! Alway been a favorite staple at our house from kids thru Grandkids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Great tasting cake, with a caramel flavour. I had to cook mine 10 min extra. Used desicated coconut for topping, but found the topping a little greasy. Next time I'll try the flaked coconut, or use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
A very old favorite recipe! We always used cinnamon rather than nutmeg. My daughter took this recipe, as an assignment, to a Bethesda, MD Junior High cooking class. Her teacher "insisted" that the recipe was wrong and the topping had to be baked rather than broiled - and then gave her a failing grade because the cake was overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
The cake was great, but the 'frosting' top wasn't so thrilling. Definitely too much butter. After spreading it on, I waiting a minute for it to settle & then I had to get paper towels to blot up a LOT of butter. I'm a butter lover, too, so I was a little shocked at how greasy it would have been had I not done that. I'd prefer a thicker topping, a ganache maybe? But the cake was excellent, a BIG hit w/ my 2 & 4 year olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I added a single serve cup of peach mango flavored applesauce. My husband ate half the cake first night. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bolling Afb, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States