Sara Jane's Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My mother used to make this cake when i was growing up so it was great to find the recipe and make it again after so many years. The cooking time, i agree, is off...i had to bake it for another 20 minutes for it to be done..but was worth the extra cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Verry good and moist. I thought it tasted like banana bread, probably due to the nutmeg. I did not use any frosting, it doesn't need it, and i baked it in a bundt pan. Makes a great coffee cake that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This cake IS very good, but I'm only giving it 4 stars because the directions are wrong. I checked my cake @ 30 min. (because I never want to overcook anything) and it was pretty far away from being done. Checked it at 35 (like recipe says) still runny, 40 min still not done. I finally took it out after 43 minutes because I hate anything overdone. I wish I'd left it in another five minutes because the middle still wasn't cooked. But the rest of the cake was and with the topping it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Delicious. The cake is so moist and the frosting is heaven! I do prefer cinnamon to nutmeg for the spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Excellent cake. Mine also took closer to 50 minutes to bake. I added about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon in addition to the nutmeg. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I can't rate this because it was actually my husband who made it (his first cake!). But I was impressed; it turned out great! The nutmeg stood out more than I expected. I thought it was pretty good, he (not being a fan of oatmeal taste) didn't care too much for it. I would give it 4 stars. I'll probably make it again myself a few times again, as it was a very yummy cold-weather treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
This cake was so delicious. Our neighbors came over twice in one day to have some. It did take closer to 50 minutes for it to be done in my oven. I imagine the coconut topping would be great on box yellow or chocolate cakes too when I don't have the time to make the oatmeal cake from scratch, but the cake/topping combination was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I was a bit unsure about a cake with soaked oats in it, but that just made me more curious to give it a try. I halved the sugars to half a cup each and also added cinnamon. I was not game enough to try the suggested topping, so made an orange cream cheese frosting instead. Very, very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This is close to the old Quaker Oats "Sunshine" Cake...which uses 1 C boiling H2O to 1 C Quick Oats, 1 t cinnamon and 1 1/3 C flour with the broiled icing! Alway been a favorite staple at our house from kids thru Grandkids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This IS yummy. I cut way back on the sugar, though, - 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. And I added cinnamon to the batter and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for about 45 minutes. Some chopped nuts added to the topping were the finishing touch. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States