Santa's Whiskers I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I have just made these cookies for the second Christmas. They are yummy and really easy. The glace cherries make them very festive. I give them as gifts. Thank-you.. I will be making them for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
One of my favorite Christmas cookie recipes. The red and green cherries highlight the colors of the Season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Excellent cookie that got raves from everyone who tried them! I made the recipe a few days ahead (minus the nuts) and froze them instead of putting them in the fridge. It made slicing them easier, and I just let them thaw for a few minutes on the pan before I cooked them. I was worried they would be too sweet, but the combination between the candied cherries, coconut, and cookie was very nice. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is a great recipe! I have been making these for a long time and instead of rolling the logs in coconut i just put the coconut in the dough. It's much less easier to work with and tastes better in my opinion (coconut stays nice and moist). My family loves these and my dad requests them every christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Thank you for posting this old fashioned favorite. Thankfully, JJ, you posted this recipe here at allrecipes. My daughter and I were thrilled when we read Tamaralynn's comments and suggestions. We followed them and the cookies turned out terrific! Thank you, JJ, Tamaralynn and allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made these for Christmas because my son loves candied cherries and I can't stop eating them! They have a great texture. I used 1 1/2 t. vanillia and 3/4 pecans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Turned out great! i rolled the dough out on parchment paper then put the coconut on top of the dough and around it and rolled them out that way then just rolled them up in the parchment paper and stuck them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katiec4717

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great cookies! I have been using this recipe for years, - but there are a few tricks!!! Cream butter, sugar, add vanilla then milk. Stir well, add cherries and pecans (don’t stir until you add the dry ingredients)) Mix dry ingredients in another bowl… then add a bit at a time to the wet mixture while you stir. Once you add the last bit - knead the dough with your hands. If the dough doesn't stick well, add a tiny bit of milk at a time until you get a good form. Break balls in half… and roll into 3 inch logs, then roll the logs into the coconut (if you want a better coating of coconut… brush the outside of the dough logs lightly with milk before rolling). You can freeze this for a couple of hours - then slice and cook, but it's best sitting in the fridge over night. The tip to not get the coconut to burn, is to slice the cookies very thinly (approx 1/4 inch), and either line your cookie pans with silicon sheets or parchment paper. Keep an eye on the first batch until you know the desired time! Recipe says 375F… I say 350F! Check them at 10 minutes, then add a couple of minutes to that (if needed). You want the bottoms golden, not dark - and the cookie should still be a little moist… Leave them on the pan until they cool (they will finish cooking this way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been making these for years also. I have never had a problem with the dough, but my version calls for ONLY 3/4 CUP BUTTER. I always use real butter and freeze the logs overnight or longer before baking for easier slicing. I also substitute chopped maraschino cherries (drained on paper towels) for the candied ones. I may try cranberries one reviewer used. The BEST part of the cookie for my family is the FINAL STEP I added. After cooling drizzle dark chocolate in one direction over the cookies and then white chocolate in another direction. It adds a lot to the taste and makes the cookies beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I've made these for years. My family doesn't care for Coconut,so I roll them in powered sugar.Before I cut them We love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States