Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I had to bring a Christmassy dessert for a Christmas potluck dinner and decided to bake this cake. Everyone raved about the cake and the icing. Yes, it could well become a tradition with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
This cake is awesome. I made it in my food science class. It was a hit. The best part is eating the awesome tasting icing. This is my new favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I made this cake for Christmas Eve. It turned out great and tasted great too! It is a VERY sweet cake and a small slice will do ya'! I garnished with crushed peppermint candies. This cake might be a new tradition for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
The cake is beautiful when complete and the frosting is to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
Haven't tried it yet but I notice the given times in the heading are incorrect. Bake for l5 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Okay, I thought this was a perfect recipe! I completely enjoyed it. I only have one tip. . . I had no clue that the red batter would be so thick! The recipe says to just bake according to directions and being the novice cook that I am, I was worried that I needed to add the oil, water and etc. according to the box. But, I didn't. I worried until the knife slid effortlessly through the cake. So, for any beginning cooks out there--don't be alarmed by lumpy red batter! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Wow! This is a great cake. It will definitely be something I make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This is a terrific recipe! My son made this cake for Thanksgiving when he was 11 years old. It was such a good cake that my brother in law paid my son to make another one for my sister for her Christmas birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This makes a really festive cake...one suggestion...one teaspoon of peppermint extract goes a long way. Taste it before you add the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This is a very good cake, would be really nice to take to a Christmas party. I have to agree with the previous post, 1 teaspoon of peppermint oil is more then enough! I used the 2 called for, and it's so strong it's bitter. I made this for my mom's birthday, she loves peppermint, but even she agreed that it's to strong. I honestly don't know how you could eat it being that strong. It overpowers the whole cake. I'm hoping that in a day or so, it will mellow out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States