Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I made this cake in to cupcakes and brought them to my work Holiday Party. Everyone loved them! And the kids (I work at a day care) we still craving them the next day. The only thing I wish I could have done was actually use the peppermint extract. They were all out at the store. I tried crushing candy canes in the food processor. It too forever and what a mess! There was peppermint sugar stuff everywhere! But the cakes looked so pretty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Great cake -- very moist and flavorful. This feeds a LOT of people! I made the recipe without any alterations, and I wouldn't change a thing. My husband absolutely loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I made this cake for a family Christmas party and everyone loved it. It was gone before all the other deserts where!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
The cake came out beautifully!!! Very tall cake. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This cake is soooo beautiful. It was delicious, too! Mine was not too dry. I think the key is to use a half-size cake mix for the yellow (red velvet) cake batter, as the recipe calls for. I only had a full-size mix, so I doubled the liquid ingredients mixed in and only used half the mix. Don't be tempted to use more than half as the red really dominates the white when they're marbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Everyone loved this cake, however I felt it was a bit crumbly when sliced (took away from the beautiful marble effect). I also needed to add a bit of milk to the frosting to get it to a spreadable consistency. Decorated with crushed candy canes on top and whole canes on the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I am giving this 5 stars because of all the compliments that I received. I made this for a Christmas Eve party. Those who tried it really liked it... a lot. I personally am not a big fan of store bought cake mixes and was not really happy with the cake itself. When it first came out of the oven it was very dry. I thought it was not going to be good at all but I really wanted to try the icing so I made it anyway. I will have to say that after it sat a while the cake did not seem as dry and the icing is awesome... if you like peppermint, which I do. I am already planning on making this next Christmas. I am going to experiment with a homemade cake, though. I decorated it with peppermint candies and it made a very tall but very attractive cake. Next year I will also probably only make 2 layers because I could not get the glass cover on it... it was too tall and since we have to travel this is a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This was a good cake and just beautiful with the marbeling of the red velvet and the yellow cake mixes. Please note that the yellow cake mix is a one layer mix,not the traditional 2 layer. I didn't notice that until it was too late. It makes a stunning presentation when cut and is tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I felt the icing on this made the cake. The cake itself was too dry for my tastes. I enjoyed mixing the colors and even added green food coloring to the icing. When I make this again, I will use all white cake mix rather than the yellow too. I will also use a different cake recipe, but keep the frosting...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This is a very good cake, would be really nice to take to a Christmas party. I have to agree with the previous post, 1 teaspoon of peppermint oil is more then enough! I used the 2 called for, and it's so strong it's bitter. I made this for my mom's birthday, she loves peppermint, but even she agreed that it's to strong. I honestly don't know how you could eat it being that strong. It overpowers the whole cake. I'm hoping that in a day or so, it will mellow out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States