Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made this for a Christmas party last year and also for our Birthday cake for Jesus that we have on Christmas Day. I got rave reviews! So, needless to say this cake will be a Christmas tradition! I too put only 1 teaspoon of peppermint in the cake, and thought it turned out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I followed the directions perfectly and my cake turned out wonderful. I didn't have to change a thing. It was moist, fluffy and just the right amount of peppermint flavor in icing. I made sure that I kept the icing in my mixer for several minutes on a high speed and it was soft and fluffy. I crushed candy canes and sprinkled lightly on top of cake and around the plate, I also put candy canes around the side of cake right before serving and it was very cute. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I took this to my husbands work, and EVERYONE loved it. My husband said it was one of the best cakes he ever had. A very easy recipe, and easy to follow. I did use real butter, like someone else suggested, and I noticed that if you use 10-14oz of the powered sugar and not all 16oz, the icing wont be hard. Also, I know the main thing was the peppermint extract, but I had to leave it out, since i was afraid that not everyone would like it. Again - fantastic recipe!!! Im already getting requests to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canfern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was a very tasty dessert. The cake turned out similar to an angel food cake - light and fluffy. The only bit of trouble I ran into was that the icing was a little heavy for the cake so I found it a bit crumbly when I iced it. Everyone loved the flavor! Delicious.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This recipe made exactly enough batter for a 9x13 cake (easier to transport) and 6 cupcakes. Other than changing the pan size, I followed the recipe exactly. Topped with red sprinkles, it looked very festive and the cake was moist and yummy. One person swore it was the best cupcake he ever had. I'll make this again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Sounds delish but I don't want to make such a huge cake. I converted it down to 8 servings but it just says to use 2/3 of a box of mix, etc. Anyway to make it a 2 layer cake???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Really good. However, it was very messy! I also added peppermint extract to the white cake batter, and put crushed candy canes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This cake is fabulous! I saw the recipe a couple of years ago and have been asked to bake it for both Thanksgiving and Christmas again this year! Make sure you have a good Kitchen Aid mixer or similar...the red part/peppermint is very doughy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This was absolutely wonderful. I followed the ingredient list to a T. Instead of making a 3 layer cake I decided to make cupcakes from the top layer. My only suggestion is to reduce the amount of peppermint extract to 1/2 for the icing. I did reduce by 1/4, but I still a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Really great recipe, especially for someone who is just learning to cook beyond the microwave!! My only problem is that the cake split across the top after I put the icing on. Also, making the icing was extremely labor intensive, but well worth it. I used 2 tsp. of Peppermint Flavor instead of extract (couldn't find it at the store). Not sure if it was the same thing, but it didn't turn out bitter or too strong. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States