Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Amazingly delicious! I followed the recipe and the only modification I made was I added three tbsp. of oil like many others said to do. I also only made two tiers and made cupckaes with the rest of the batter. This cake was a huge hit at the Christmas party. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotwaves1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
We really enjoyed this cake. I found the peppermint extract in the frosting to be just the right amount. I swirled with the knife just a little bit to get a chunky marbled effect..it looked so pretty! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy31

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by etakily
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I didn't personally make this cake, but my brother did and I thought it was pretty good. The icing was very pepperminty (pepperminty is a word :)), but the cake itself wasn't very flavorful, and I found it lacking. It's a decent recipe, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etakily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Love this cake! Got great reviews from everyone. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I love the concept! And I am sure this is a great recipe. But to save time I bought a red velvet cake mix and a white cake mix. I used store bought cream cheese frosting with 1 teaspoon of extract stirred in. Sorry! Busy people have to find short cuts when they can!! Thanks for the idea!!!! I made them for Christmas gifts for my girlfriends. BTW, using the cake mixes, I made two bundt cakes at once! Even more time saving to end up with two cakes instead of one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I'm not much of a baker - I usually throw a box mix into a cupcake pan and call it good. I think I was disappointed because it was a more work than I usually go to and the taste was "eh". The peppermint extract (I only used 1 tsp.) was the predominant flavor for the entire cake. I won't bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynsey Loo Who
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe was awesome! I read the reviews and added an extra tablespoon of oil to the white cake mix to make it more moist. I also decided because I'm not a fan of cream cheese frosting to use store bought vanilla and add the peppermint extract. It came out looking and tasting amazing, definately a crowd pleaser! I added some decorations to make it more festive for the holiday too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is great! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I used two TEAspoons of McCormick Peppermint extract and didn't find it overpowering at all. I found a box of 9 ounce yellow cake mix by Jiffy so I didn't have to use half of a normal box. I did have to stir the icing by hand as I added the last little bit of the sugar because of it's thickness, but it was never dry or crumbly. I also bought Andes candies white chocolate/peppermint pieces and pressed them around the sides of my cake. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very good cake and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States