Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Amazingly delicious! I followed the recipe and the only modification I made was I added three tbsp. of oil like many others said to do. I also only made two tiers and made cupckaes with the rest of the batter. This cake was a huge hit at the Christmas party. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gotwaves1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
We really enjoyed this cake. I found the peppermint extract in the frosting to be just the right amount. I swirled with the knife just a little bit to get a chunky marbled effect..it looked so pretty! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy31

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by etakily
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I didn't personally make this cake, but my brother did and I thought it was pretty good. The icing was very pepperminty (pepperminty is a word :)), but the cake itself wasn't very flavorful, and I found it lacking. It's a decent recipe, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etakily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Love this cake! Got great reviews from everyone. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I love the concept! And I am sure this is a great recipe. But to save time I bought a red velvet cake mix and a white cake mix. I used store bought cream cheese frosting with 1 teaspoon of extract stirred in. Sorry! Busy people have to find short cuts when they can!! Thanks for the idea!!!! I made them for Christmas gifts for my girlfriends. BTW, using the cake mixes, I made two bundt cakes at once! Even more time saving to end up with two cakes instead of one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I'm not much of a baker - I usually throw a box mix into a cupcake pan and call it good. I think I was disappointed because it was a more work than I usually go to and the taste was "eh". The peppermint extract (I only used 1 tsp.) was the predominant flavor for the entire cake. I won't bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynsey Loo Who
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe was awesome! I read the reviews and added an extra tablespoon of oil to the white cake mix to make it more moist. I also decided because I'm not a fan of cream cheese frosting to use store bought vanilla and add the peppermint extract. It came out looking and tasting amazing, definately a crowd pleaser! I added some decorations to make it more festive for the holiday too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is great! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I used two TEAspoons of McCormick Peppermint extract and didn't find it overpowering at all. I found a box of 9 ounce yellow cake mix by Jiffy so I didn't have to use half of a normal box. I did have to stir the icing by hand as I added the last little bit of the sugar because of it's thickness, but it was never dry or crumbly. I also bought Andes candies white chocolate/peppermint pieces and pressed them around the sides of my cake. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very good cake and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States