Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by RayColsOh
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Followed the directions exactly, however made cupcakes which I took to a Christmas party. Everyone loved these, not a single one was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefjenna
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was delicious! I cheated a bit though. For the cake, I used Betty Crocker white cake mix and Duncan Hinz Red Velvet cake. I prepared them per the box instructions, rather than adding anything too them. Rather than swirl the two different colored cakes together, I baked the whole red velevet mix in one 9" pan for 50 minutes and the whole white cake mix in a separate 9" pan for 50 minutes. after the cakes had cooled, I cut the dome off of the tops and used a piece of dental floss, I cut the cakes, width-wise, into 2 layers so that I had 4 total layers. I made the frosting recipe per the directions but used 1/2 of the peppermint extract as many recommended. This was just the right amount of mint for me. I then frosted the cakes, icing in between each layer and on the outside. When the cake was sliced, it looked like a candy cane on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannie
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Big hit at the Holiday party as the red stood out very well!!! I found a cupcake box with yellow cake in a 9 oz size that worked perfectly and I also added an extra tbl of veggie oil to the white cake mix to keep it all moist. Didn't have a problem with the cake breaking at all.....found the swirling a little challenging but it worked out in the end with me doing very little mixing to ensure it didn't turn into a pink cake overall like some of the pictures shown. Great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made it for a party and it was a huge success. I crushed up candy canes and used them between the layers and on top--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I don't care for peppermint folks, but let me tell you this is one great cake. Experimented on my friends (still) and it was a great hit. The frosting melts like ice cream in your mouth and there is only a hint of the peppermint, not over powering. Try it, you will like it. Thanks, its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I have made this cake the last 5 Christmases. It is always a hit with kids and adults love it too! I usually buy the red and white Andes Mints that are already chopped up sold in the Baking aisle at the store and it looks pretty on a dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Le Roy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GIANNA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Frosting was excellent, cake was blah. I will make this frosting again for other cakes. I will never make the cake recipe again. The box by it's self would have been better. The frosting would be delish on a devils food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I had a hard time with this cake. Putting 3 layers on top of each other was not easy, and the top layer ended up cracking and looking terrible. Also, I messed up the recipe because I didn't realize the yellow cake was supposed to be only a 9oz. mix, this was my fault for not reading carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The cake is very pretty but is nothing special. NOTE: yellow cake mix calls for a smaller size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
WONDERFUL cake! I have made it for 2 seperate events already and it was a HUGE hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States