Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This makes a really festive cake...one suggestion...one teaspoon of peppermint extract goes a long way. Taste it before you add the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This is a terrific recipe! My son made this cake for Thanksgiving when he was 11 years old. It was such a good cake that my brother in law paid my son to make another one for my sister for her Christmas birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Although I thought this cake turned out to be a little dry (most likely it was my fault), my reactions were wonderful...and this was a tough crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I made this a few nights ago and the whole family LOVED it. I didn't have peppermint flavoring. So I took a bag of peppermint individuals put them in the blender and crushed them as fine as sugar and stired into the icing. It was very good. We stored ours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This was a very decorative and appetite-pleasing cake to make for the holidays. I received many compliments on this dessert and have been requested to make this cake for every Christmas dinner that we will have at our church!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
tasted great, but it fell apart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This tasted very good. I think if I make it again I will use less peppermint in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Wow! This is a great cake. It will definitely be something I make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Okay, I thought this was a perfect recipe! I completely enjoyed it. I only have one tip. . . I had no clue that the red batter would be so thick! The recipe says to just bake according to directions and being the novice cook that I am, I was worried that I needed to add the oil, water and etc. according to the box. But, I didn't. I worried until the knife slid effortlessly through the cake. So, for any beginning cooks out there--don't be alarmed by lumpy red batter! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
I had to bring a Christmassy dessert for a Christmas potluck dinner and decided to bake this cake. Everyone raved about the cake and the icing. Yes, it could well become a tradition with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States