Santa's Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was good. I took the advice of others and used only 1/2 the yellow cake mix and 1 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract. It was still too much peppermint. I will use 1/2 tsp. next time. Also, I crushed candy canes to put on top, which looked great but got yucky and soggy after the first day. So if you're going to do that, I'd recommend making sure the whole thing gets eaten immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This cake was great, although I cheated and used a chocolate cake mix and prepared according to those instructions. I halved the icing recipe and sprinkled crushed puffed peppermint candy over the top of the frosted cake. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I got so many compliments on this cake when I served it at my Christmas party. I even had people asking me for the recipe. The only changes I made was that I used butter instead of margarine (I prefer eating real food, not chemicals) and I used one teaspoon of peppermint extract. Two teaspoons would have been way too much. I will definately be making this every Christmas from now on. It is truely the best Christmas cake I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
My mom only made the peppermint frosting and put it on top of chocolate cupcakes. It was very, very good. I'm NOT a big fan of peppermint but I didn't think it was too minty at all. You need to know that the recipe calls for peppermint EXTRACT, not oil, which isn't supposed to be used for cooking (although it is edible). Peppermint OIL is much stronger than extract, which would explain the bitter taste. An all around great recipe for some delicious frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Because of what others had to say about the strength of the peppermint, I started with 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint oil and even that was VERY strong. Is peppermint oil different from peppermint extract? It completely covered up the rest of the flavors. The cake was very pretty, but I'm would only make it again if I used a few DROPS of peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I LOVE the frosting this makes! If you're a peppermint lover, you will love this too! The cake was a little bit dry (I added a little bit more oil) but was still good. I got mixed reviews (some people didn't like peppermint). Otherwise I made it exactly as the directions state. YUMMY and so great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was sooooo good. I made it for dessert for Christmas. I started out with half the peppermint extract and added more to taste. It was so yummy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
A number of reviews mentioned it was sort of dry, so I added an extra T. of oil to the white cake recipe. It takes a little longer to bake, but was nice and moist. Also, make sure you have fresh, quality peppermint extract to avoid that bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Great cake...lots of compliments on the pretty cake on Christmas Day!! My mother-in-law bought me the ingredients to make her one to serve her bridge club a week later. The cake stays real moist. I also added crushed Starlight mints to the top for a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This is a very beautiful cake to serve at Christmas time! I received many compliments. I reduced the amount of peppermint to 1-1/2 tsp, and sprinkled crushed candy canes on top to add to the presentation. Also, note the size of the yellow cake mix-- it is NOT the standard size!! Thanks to an earlier review for this tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States