Santa's Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This cookie is a new family favorite and I will definitely make them again. I omitted the cherries because I had already made some cherry cookies and didn't miss them at all. I also made batches with Andies mints and caramel kisses filling. The cinnamon sugar seemed a strange combination with the chocolate, but the slight cinnamon aftertaste of the cookie is my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
These cookies may take a while to make, but they are well worth the effort! I made 12 dozen for a cookie exchange at Christmas, and people are still talking about how awesome they are! Thanks so much, Sallie. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These cookies came out great and were fun to make with the kids. We did get a little creative with the toppings and strayed from the recipe. We cut Andes Candies in half and put that on top with a small piece of a cherry. (A whole cherry would've been too large.) The cookie itself was soft and chocolaty. They had fun rolling them and making the thumbprint. Then when they were baked they loved putting on the toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I can't say enough good things about this recipe. I baked these for my Christmas Cookie Gifts and everyone that tried them was absolutely blown away! I had several co-workers of mine and some of my husbands say they were the best cookies they have ever had! I followed the receipe for some, dusted others with cinnamon and added mini-chocolate chips to yet others. Each batch was better than the last. Thanks for starting a Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dextersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These cookies were beautiful to look at, but not as flavorful as I would've liked them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLINJACKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
My family has really enjoyed this cookie. They are yummy, easy, and fun to make, but they do take some time after they come out of the oven to 'fill' so plan accordingly. I used a toothpick to swirl the white chocolate after it had melted a bit and because of the short cooking time, found that I had to completly finish each cookie sheet before I put the next in to bake. Be sure and add the half cherry on top, it adds lots of flavor to the cookie. Thanks for the recipe. It will be on my Christmas bake list every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
These cookies were delicious was looking for something different. I used the swirled chocolate chips (caramel) and added pecans. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe!. I did modify it a bit the second time around. I didn't use the cherries & I substituted regular chocolate instead of white. This batch came out very rich & chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETAUNBRAESE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I found this to be a fairly easy recipe but a long process. They were kind of dense, I think I will make them again, but I will make the cookies much smaller. Most people I gave them to said they broke off the outer ring of cookie and only ate the center to deal with the dense-ness better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
A bit on the dry side but my family like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States