Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very good Recipe. However if you wanyt true Santa Maria Style TriTip your rub should consist of Salt, Pepper, and Garlic Salt. However this Rub is very good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Wow! This was as easy as it was delicious. I used a tri-tip that was a bit smaller than the recipe called for so I reduced the dry rub ingredients by one half, which turned out to be plenty. The flavor was wonderful, although next time I will reduce the salt a bit. My husband loved it. This is definitely going into the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was the most fabulous beef I can remember ever eating! We had dinner for 7 with rave reviews from all. My only change in Chef John's recipe was crushed fresh garlic, rather than powdered, and chopped fresh rosemary, rather than dried. Being concerned about blacked beef being carcinogenic, however, I followed Chef John's grilling directions only until the tri-tip was totally browned and sealed. Then the heat was lowered, allowing the meat to cook more slowly until it reached Chef John's recommended inside temp of 130 degrees. With an electric knife, I sliced the roast on the diagonal & arranged with wedges of B Follick's marinated Grilled Portobello Mushrooms. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Made it tonight, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
freaking awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Best. Tri Tip. Recipe. EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
The BEST tri-tip I have ever made! I made the rub and the sauce as directed then hubby watched the video and grilled it exactly as Chef John instructed. VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
We loved this recipe. I am going to save the spice list for other meats it was such a great combination. The meat was a little hotter on the inside than stated but it may have been because it sat out longer than 4 hours. I will take that into consideration next time. The left overs are tender and can be used a variety of ways. The next day I sliced thin against the grain and made steak salads topped with homemade shoestring french fries...yum. I seriously cant wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I am from Santa Maria,CA and I can tell you that Santa Maria tri-tip experts are purists, with the simplest of seasonings being used, powdered garlic, salt, pepper and maybe some parsley. One of the other things about Santa Maria-style tri-tip is that it is cooked over red oak wood. The oak and the simple seasonings are what brings out the excellent flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States