Santa Fe Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Very good soup!!! I didn't have any frozen corn so I used 1 can of corn (drained) and I used 1 (4oz) can of green chiles instead of 1/2c. I also added a little more carrots and added a green bell pepper (chopped). ALSO, I grilled some chicken seasoned with cajun seasonings, cubed it and added that too! VERY GOOD! Not too spicy but a nice "warm." Instead of salsa, I sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese overall. Would make again! Thanks Corwynn for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LiveToBless
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used less celery and onion and probably a little more rice. EXCELLENT for a cold night. Thick and yummy with crusty bread and butter on the side. Kids didn't complain too much either and it was nice to have a meat-less meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiveToBless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was good but it lacked something and I couldn't put my finger on what it was. I did run short on wild rice and threw in some brown but the rice wasn't the problem. I think next time I would lose the carrots and add rinsed black beans in the end instead? Anyway, I am giving it a 4 because it was was very flavorable and easy to make and my hubby enjoyed it but it just lacked a little something to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
disregarded step1 and just everything in the pot for 30mins. served with fresh salsa, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made it creamy by sauteing the onions and adding flour and cooking that for a minute. Then at the end I added milk/cream. It was pretty amazing! Thanks for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
easy ... great flavor. if you want fully vegetarian it's almost as good with veg-stock instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great weeknight dinner. I just use a box of the Uncle Ben's Wild Rice, and I added celery and garlic. I haven't tried it yet, but I bet this wold be good with some shredded chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I loved how quick and simple this recipe was. I only made one change--I sauteed the onion, carrots and a little fresh minced garlic in a little EVOO before adding the other ingredients. The spices are spot on. Everything in this soup worked together very well. Though we liked this soup, both my husband and I were trying to figure out what it was missing. It's almost there......it just needs a little "oomph". As is, NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was okay, but not to our taste. We had great hopes for this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A very easy dish to prepare. I used only one green chile pepper and added one can of rinsed black beans. Next time I make this I will pick up a bag of tortilla chips to crumble over the top to add a nice salty crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States