Santa Fe Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Very good soup!!! I didn't have any frozen corn so I used 1 can of corn (drained) and I used 1 (4oz) can of green chiles instead of 1/2c. I also added a little more carrots and added a green bell pepper (chopped). ALSO, I grilled some chicken seasoned with cajun seasonings, cubed it and added that too! VERY GOOD! Not too spicy but a nice "warm." Instead of salsa, I sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese overall. Would make again! Thanks Corwynn for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LiveToBless
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used less celery and onion and probably a little more rice. EXCELLENT for a cold night. Thick and yummy with crusty bread and butter on the side. Kids didn't complain too much either and it was nice to have a meat-less meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiveToBless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
easy ... great flavor. if you want fully vegetarian it's almost as good with veg-stock instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great weeknight dinner. I just use a box of the Uncle Ben's Wild Rice, and I added celery and garlic. I haven't tried it yet, but I bet this wold be good with some shredded chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
disregarded step1 and just everything in the pot for 30mins. served with fresh salsa, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was good but it lacked something and I couldn't put my finger on what it was. I did run short on wild rice and threw in some brown but the rice wasn't the problem. I think next time I would lose the carrots and add rinsed black beans in the end instead? Anyway, I am giving it a 4 because it was was very flavorable and easy to make and my hubby enjoyed it but it just lacked a little something to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made it creamy by sauteing the onions and adding flour and cooking that for a minute. Then at the end I added milk/cream. It was pretty amazing! Thanks for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was okay, but not to our taste. We had great hopes for this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
A very easy dish to prepare. I used only one green chile pepper and added one can of rinsed black beans. Next time I make this I will pick up a bag of tortilla chips to crumble over the top to add a nice salty crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I loved how quick and simple this recipe was. I only made one change--I sauteed the onion, carrots and a little fresh minced garlic in a little EVOO before adding the other ingredients. The spices are spot on. Everything in this soup worked together very well. Though we liked this soup, both my husband and I were trying to figure out what it was missing. It's almost there......it just needs a little "oomph". As is, NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States