Santa Fe Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SUSANNE C. SWISHER
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Excellent soup, easy to follow recipe. I gave four stars because I had to double the Velveeta to get the texture I wanted, but I think that is a personal taste thing. I love the whole kernel corn, it adds texture, and a little sweetness. I am vegetarian, so used reconstituted Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP) {2 cups dry} for the ground beef. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANNE C. SWISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
so good!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
What a great tasting recipe. Not hot enough for me though, so I added 2 Tbls. each of Garlic Powder, Cayenne & Chili Powder...yum, yum... just right! Good job! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Easy and tasty recipe, especially for novice cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is sooooo good! Great for a winter night. I made it with 1 can black beans and one can ranch style beans. I didn't feel like chopping up the onion so I just used onion powder and a dusting of season salt while the meat was browning. After I dumped all the cans in, I didn't think it looked like enough liquid before I added all that cheese, so I added about a cup or so of chicken broth, till the consitency looked right to me. Then I added the cheese and let it heat up and melt. I used mild rotel, so i also put a little crushed red pepper in for more spicyness. I'm going to get a bowl now, with a warm flour torilla AND chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I thought this tasted great but had a poor visual appearance. I left out the corn and used black beans instead of ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipes was not worth eating again. If you want to make something similar to this take out the onion and tomatoes and corn and beans. Add one can of rotel tomatoes any type that you like. It makes a great dip, that is why i was excited to try this recipe. Disappointment. But i did try it first with out the straight recipe, didn't like it. Then i tried adding taco seasoning, still no. Lastly i added more tomatoes which helped a tiny bit but just not worth serving. I'm glad this suits someones taste buds other than my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME !!! I used the Ranch Style beans with Jals and it was fabulous !!!! MEN at my office asked for the recipe!!!!!!!! Super easy! Very filling and just plain GOOD !!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was just the basic recipe I needed to use up a couple of things in the fridge. I made a creamy potato soup a couple of nights before and had some leftover. I made a half recipe of Sammye's soup and added a cup of the potato soup. I also only had a little bit of processed cheese so I sprinkled grated cheddar on each bowl of soup. Seasoned with 1 1/2 teaspoon of taco seasoning. I used one can of Rotel and some vegetable juice. Frozen corn. I used a can of ranch-style beans plus a can of red beans. I drained the red beans. Made a great soup. I'll never have the exact ingredients again, but this soup is a wonderfully versatile idea. I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Simple, cheap, and yummy! I used only 1 can of beans since I'm nursing and I used some taco seasoning in the meat and omitted the onions. Also, I used Mexican style corn as others have used. We had it as a soup for dinner with crushed up blue corn tortilla chips and sour cream on top. For lunch the next day (this recipe makes a lot) we had it as a dip. Also, I made it for my sister as a freezer meal and used a heavy duty zip-loc and it froze beautifully and she said it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen 49:20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States