Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was very good. Took it to a ball windup and received lots of compliments. I did make changes though. The things I changed are: used 1 cup basmati rice and 2 cups water with one garlic clove. I added a whole can black beans, one red pepper, bunch of chopped cilantro, used olive oil instead of veg oil, used white wine vinegar instead of regular vinegar, added 1 large jalepeno, sprinkled with cumin. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Overall a nice basic recipe. When I make again I will make a few adjustments. I used a fresh jalapeno, removing the seeds, which didn't provide enough zing to the dressing. Next time will use the prepared jalapeno and maybe add some cumin or cilantro to pep up the dressing. I used white vinegar which was a little strong for my taste. I will either cut down on the amount or use rice vinegar for a lighter taste. Also, needed some crunch, so chopped bell pepper or even celery would be a good addition. And cheese is kind of unnecessary, added calories but not much taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Great recipe! I've made it several times. It goes well with my daughter and I who are vegetarian and also with my non-vegetarian husband and son. Will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I reduced the oil, used jasmine rice, and added cilantro. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
made this for dinner last night and it is very good. used Balsamic vinegar & entire can of black beans. next time may add some thawed frozen corn. Also did not need sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
I served this at a family Labor Day party and it was great! I used diced green chilies instead of the peppers (mostly because I didn't have any peppers), and it turned out great. My family loved it and the hostess insisted on keeping the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This recipe was superb! I just made a few changes. I used basmati rice for extra flavor, white wine vinegar, and added about 1 tsp or so of unsalted taco seasoning mix. Also, as other reviewers have noted, I only used about half the dressing and made it early in the day so it was packed with flavor by dinner time. Awesome alongside Debbie Donham's Chicken Enchiladas. Thanks Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I served this yummy salad at a family barbeque and it got great reviews (and requests for the recipe). Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was very very tasty! The ingredients all went very well together. My only complaint is that it was not very good the second day. All of the ingredients tasted too much like vinegar. Next time I will probably only make half as much as not to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This salad was excellent! Followed recipe exactly. Next time will double the jalapeno for a little more zip. Will also add some chopped cilantro for flavor just because I love it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States