Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I took the advice of some of the others and used a can of diced green chiles. All in all this was pretty good but I thought the dressing was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
My boyfriend is not very fond of rice, but he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This salad was excellent! Followed recipe exactly. Next time will double the jalapeno for a little more zip. Will also add some chopped cilantro for flavor just because I love it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This is great. I add fresh minced garlic to the water before cooking the rice, and I also like to add some chopped cilantro to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticdiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was pretty good. I didnt have tomatoes so I used a can of Rotel. I think next time I will mix 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of salsa - I like a creamier dressing instead of a vinegar. Good for lunch though - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
i added some finely chopped, sauteed ham. for the dressing i used half & half red wine vinegar & apple cider. i also didn't have jalepenos on had so i used 1-2 tsp. of a cajun seasoning mix instead. it was delicious & unique! A+ for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Great recipe! I've made it several times. It goes well with my daughter and I who are vegetarian and also with my non-vegetarian husband and son. Will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Great recipe - very colorful. I modified it by adding lots of chopped sweet peppers (red, orange, yellow and green), some red onion along with the green onions, lots more jalapenos, less oil in the dressing (2:1 with the vinegar), less dressing overall based on other comments, reduced fat shredded cheddar (couldn't tell the difference), and cumin in the dressing. Will definately make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This is a refreshing and unique salad. I am always looking for an alternative summertime (cold) side dish (pasta and potato salads get old after a while), and you just don't see many rice salads! I used basmati rice and it stayed nice and firm even after a couple days. I increased the rice to 1 cup (2c water), and used the same amount of dressing and it was perfect - it was all soaked up. I left out the jalepenos (kids) and avacado's too - just don't have those around, but added a little salsa (had about 1/2 cup in fridge) and about a tsp of McCormic Santa Fe spice blend, and it was wonderful! A nice healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This was really good. I let the rice sit out so it was room temp. and not so chilled--- so it wasnt hard.It was simple and looked nice. I added a little extra rice and there was still enough dressing. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States