Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I made this last night as a side for my chicken enchiladas. Absolutely fabulous and quick to make! Next time I might add a can of corn to the salad. It would also be great on its own with grilled chicken breast on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was great! I did not have a jalapeno so I added some chili pwd and some hot sauce. It worked perfectly. I also added some canned chicken to make it more of a meal. I will be using this one a lot. I also let my dressing sit for 30 mins before adding it to my rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was very very tasty! The ingredients all went very well together. My only complaint is that it was not very good the second day. All of the ingredients tasted too much like vinegar. Next time I will probably only make half as much as not to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Great as a side dish with BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was very good. Took it to a ball windup and received lots of compliments. I did make changes though. The things I changed are: used 1 cup basmati rice and 2 cups water with one garlic clove. I added a whole can black beans, one red pepper, bunch of chopped cilantro, used olive oil instead of veg oil, used white wine vinegar instead of regular vinegar, added 1 large jalepeno, sprinkled with cumin. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I reduced the oil, used jasmine rice, and added cilantro. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Overall a nice basic recipe. When I make again I will make a few adjustments. I used a fresh jalapeno, removing the seeds, which didn't provide enough zing to the dressing. Next time will use the prepared jalapeno and maybe add some cumin or cilantro to pep up the dressing. I used white vinegar which was a little strong for my taste. I will either cut down on the amount or use rice vinegar for a lighter taste. Also, needed some crunch, so chopped bell pepper or even celery would be a good addition. And cheese is kind of unnecessary, added calories but not much taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This recipe was superb! I just made a few changes. I used basmati rice for extra flavor, white wine vinegar, and added about 1 tsp or so of unsalted taco seasoning mix. Also, as other reviewers have noted, I only used about half the dressing and made it early in the day so it was packed with flavor by dinner time. Awesome alongside Debbie Donham's Chicken Enchiladas. Thanks Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
this is easy to make and wonderful to enjoy on a hot day. my family loves it and we can't wait to try it with some grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
made this for dinner last night and it is very good. used Balsamic vinegar & entire can of black beans. next time may add some thawed frozen corn. Also did not need sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States