Santa Fe Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this wasn't good. The only thing I could taste was the oil for the dressing. My husband wasn't a big fan either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Loved it! As others suggested I added some garlic when cooking the rice. I doubled the vinegrette and added 1 tsp cumin, and poured this over the black beans while I was preparing the rest. I also added a small can of corn, and left out the avocado. I used white wine vinegar and basmati rice. It was very delicious and will be a regular. Nice and colorful for taking to a party too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Very, very good. Took this salad to a luncheon with friends and all wanted the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nzingha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lampertheim, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I thought this was quite good. We did use white wine vinegar, 2 cloves of garlic, diced red pepper and cucumber, and about 1/2 t. cumin. I only added about 1/4 c. cheese to cut down fat. Next time I might add crisp white corn kernels instead of cucumber (which was what I had on hand to add some crunch). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I served this as a side for Baja Chipotle Fish Tacos & while I really enjoyed it, my hubby & grandson did not. I did make a couple of changes...I omitted the avocado because I am out, I used rice wine vinegar, greatly decreased the cheese (I only added enough to add a bit of color), used minute rice *blushing*, & I added some cilantro & cumin. Maybe the lack of the avocado ruined it for my hubby & grandson but I still thought it was very good. Despite their lack of enthusiasm for the dish, it makes a perfect side for many Mexican dishes so I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I will definitely be making this again and again! I used a mixed grain rice which added a lot of flavor to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Excellent!!! I made this for a side dish for my husband and I and he really raved about it. I will definitely make this again. I am even going to make this for our next bbq. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This salad was a hit on a recent camping trip. My friends said "fresh and different, very good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
With a few tweaks, this is 5-stars. I used Texmati rice, increased to 1-cup, with 2 cups water; increased black beans to 1-cup. Made dressing using 1/4 cup oil; 1/4 cup white wine vinegar; jalapeno as called for plus 1/2 tsp cumin and salt to taste. As another reviewer suggested, I made the dressing and poured it over the black beans while I prepared the rice. Flavor was great and this amount of dressing was perfect. I did not use cheese or avocado. Served last night with Chile Verde and flour tortillas and it was great. Today for lunch, I flaked a leftover salmon filet into the salad while it returned to room temp. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made this with quinoa, and it was delicious! I did make a few modifications, though: I substituted half red-wine and half apple-cider vinegar for white, olive oil for vegetable oil, and a sprinkling of stevia for sugar. I also left out the cheese and added a clove of minced garlic. The creamy texture of the beans and avocado was wonderful and balanced out the tanginess of the vinegar. I topped each serving with green hot sauce for a little extra kick. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States