Santa Fe Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was an easy and tasty recipe. I chose to layer the ingredients, placing a flour tortilla in between layers, instead of mixing them all together. I also did not use the Philadephia Cooking Creme. Instead, I used about 1-1.5 cups of chicken broth, and melted a block of cream cheese in a sauce ban, using a whisk, until creamy. I added to that about half a package of taco seasoning and removed it from the heat before folding in some sour cream to get the desired consistency of creaminess. It was a cinch to make and the kids approved. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea CA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I have made this several times and my husband really loves it. I have made a few changes. I use 1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I pan fry until its no longer pink. Add first 4 ingredients to chicken, plus one(4 oz) can diced green chili's and 1/4 cup chopped cilantro. I also use 8 inch tortillas and 1 cup of cheese. I use a deep dish pie plate and follow directions spreading one and 1/2 cups chicken mixture 3 times and 1/3 cup cheese 3 times. (The last time I made this, I tried it in the microwave for 25 minutes covered at 30% temperature. It came out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Great recipe for a cold day. I used Rotel tomatoes with cilantro and lime and corn tortillas and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheEngstroms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added sweet corn and used corn tortillas instead of flour, and served this with sour cream. It was so good and even better the next day for lunch. Will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
My husband and I loved this so much! I'm sure it would have been great as is but I used Rotel instead of diced tomatoes and couldn't find the Philly Sante Fe Cooking Creme so I made it myself by mixing sour cream, cream cheese and green chiles in a saucepan and having it melt into a sauce on the stovetop. I mixed that with the first four ingredients and didn't reserve any additional sauce for the top - didn't need it. I also seasoned the chicken with chicken taco seasoning. Finally, I used corn tortillas instead of flour. I usually don't like when someone reviews a recipe they've changed so much but really I believe it would have been great just as is. I just swapped the corn for flour tortillas and used some additional seasonings. I imagine we'll make this a few times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Definitely on the bland side. Needs some green chilies and/or jalapenos, or instead of canned tomatoes, use salsa. We'll eat this batch with salsa and know better for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
We liked this-good for a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was not what I expected. It was not awful and I would make it again. I would use white onion instead of the green next time. I will make with out the tortillas and serve with them on the side or chips. I think it would make a wonderfule dip or stuffing for the tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lorena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States