Santa Fe Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
As in all New Mexican dishes, this needed green chili. Throw a can in to feel like you've really traveled to the southwest. Another substitution that's worth considering is using crushed tortilla chips instead of tortillas if you don't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! I have made it many times and always get lots of compliments. I have found that the santa fe cooking creme is difficult to find in my area so I often will buy the plain cooking creme and add my own spices of cumin, chili powder, red pepper flake, garlic powder, etc. But it's an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe! The flavor was fantastic. I changed only one thing and that was to use a can of Rotel (Mexican Lime and Cilantro) in place of the diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was easy and delicious. I added green chiles and used corn tortillas instead of flour, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Served with cilantro lime rice on the side. It's a keeper! Except it made me really wish I had a margarita! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
My husband and I loved this so much! I'm sure it would have been great as is but I used Rotel instead of diced tomatoes and couldn't find the Philly Sante Fe Cooking Creme so I made it myself by mixing sour cream, cream cheese and green chiles in a saucepan and having it melt into a sauce on the stovetop. I mixed that with the first four ingredients and didn't reserve any additional sauce for the top - didn't need it. I also seasoned the chicken with chicken taco seasoning. Finally, I used corn tortillas instead of flour. I usually don't like when someone reviews a recipe they've changed so much but really I believe it would have been great just as is. I just swapped the corn for flour tortillas and used some additional seasonings. I imagine we'll make this a few times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I didn't use the onions, but did add corn for color. The recipe made too much filling; I only needed half. It wasn't very spicy, I'll use rotel tomatoes with green chilies next time. Overall, very tasty, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was so easy and tasted great. My husband didn't believe I made it at first! Its a great quick weeknight meal and although I don't have kids, I think they would love it too! Will definetly make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was just okay nothing special in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
It was good had just right amount of spices. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Arg I bought the wrong philadelphia and bough the Italian. So I used Monteray jack cheese and garbonzo beans. I used fresh sweet grape tomatoes and they all loved it. I'm still going to try it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States