Santa Fe Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I have Marianne to thank for this recipe - she mentioned it on the buzz, and I just had to try it (= I made this for a baby shower, following other reviewers' suggestions of adding 1/2 packet of taco seasoning to the filling. It was so good! I liked it served with tortilla chips - which I feel made the chip crust somewhat redundant. I will make this crustless next time . . . I also subbed 6 oz plain greek yogurt for the sour cream on top. I wanted to top it with green onion, diced tomato, and black olives - but just plain was too overwhelmed and ran out of time. So I just used the olives. It was just plain yummy! Some people were a bit confused by it, thinking it was a dessert - even though it was sitting by the chips, and was topped by olives - but once they got past that, everyone liked it (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this for a get-together with friends. It turned out great and was really pretty when plated and topped with the tomatos and bellpeppers. I was asked for the recipe several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springhill, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My family loved this recipe as is. However the second time I made the following adjustments. For the crust I used Crushed Club crackers/butter For the filling: I used 3 packages of cream cheese to which I added 2 eggs 1 cup Monterey Jack/Colby Cheese sundried tomatoes Real Bacon Bits green chilies - drained 1/2 package of taco seasoning in cream cheese After Baking 1/2 package of tacon seasoning in sour cream I also added the avocado as garnish along with green onions, yellow bell pepper, and tomato and sprinkled some more bacon bits on top along with a little MontereyJack/Colby Cheese TURNED OUT GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parothstein
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I am rating this recipe as 3-stars because I made it as the recipe read and it really needed more flavor. The second time I made it, I added taco seasoning to the cream cheese mixture as well as taco seasoning to the sour cream layer. Make sure you use AUTHENTIC tortilla chips for the crust. I used Tostidos the first time I made it and they were complete mush. The second time I used a thick, higher quality chip and the crust was much better. I would definatately suggest adding some spice to this recipe. It has a very pretty presentation...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This dish was excellent and got rave reviews. It also made a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ODINROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
We really enjoyed this, however, I did not care for the crust at all! It was like soggy and chewy. I was expecting it to be more crunchy, but other than that this was a hit for our family 'dip night'. I halved the recipe and baked it in my 6" springform pan which ended up being the perfect size. I also added taco seasoning to the cream cheese mixture (about 1 tablespoon) and still used the whole can of chilies...it was very tasty. I topped it with tomatoes, green peppers, green onions, a little shredded cheddar cheese and chives. I will definately be using this recipe again, but trying something different for the crust! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Love everything about it. Well, add in some taco seasoning, then it's an amazing recipe. I think it may have been bland without the seasoning, so I'm glad I added it. I used the Taco Seasoning I recipe from this site using good quality spices, which I think helps. Used maybe a tablespoon or two? Use your judgement to suit your preference. The yellow bell would've been a nice color but I used orange since I had it and I added tomato. Fun to make your own. Didn't find an issue with the crust--some people said it was chewy or whatever... it was a hit and I look forward to making again! 16 is probably a good guess for how many it serves--took to party with 8 people and it was about half gone (with other food served, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Got lots of looks...definitely something different. I followed others suggestions and added taco seasoning to cream cheese layer and to sour cream. Then topped with chopped peppers, tomatoes, and black olives. It did look impressive! I served it on a large platter and surrounded it with tortilla chips so people would know it was a dip-like appetizer. Got good reviews from those who tried it. However, I was very disappointed in the crust...the chips turned out chewy. Would make again if I could figure out my trouble with the crust, or an alternative to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Thanks to all for their suggestions about adding flavor. I almost over-cooked it, but it was okay. Everyone thought it had refried beans in it, not that I almost burned it, LOL. I added cilantro to the tomatoes, peppers, and onion on top then sprinkled with black olive slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOUNTAINCUTUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leicester, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I found this to be a very good recipe, but did find that if you didn't explain what it was to guests they were weird about it! I did add a package of taco seasoning to the cream cheese and really liked it. Served with tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States