Sans Rival Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I halved the amount of rum in the recipe, because my family found it too strong, but it was delicious either way for me, :D Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This turned out amazing. My titas and titos were raving about it. This is a very special filipino recipe, indeed, as it takes a lot of effort, and it's not one of the staple desserts you find at most filipino parties. This dessert can also get kinda pricey to buy too, so it's wonderful to know that we can all enjoy it homemade. Definitely stands out on the dessert table and a rare treat well worth all the time and effort. FIVE STARS!!! Maraming salamat po sa recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Awesome recipe. We did however, cut down on the sugar for both the meringue and the butter icing. This is my first time making this. I dusted the pan with flour and poured the meringue right in. After coming out of the oven, I waited until it was just warm, and removed it from the pan. Perfect! The next time though, I'll opt to chop the cashews a little teenier. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
the filling is too sweet for me. but overall it DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is my second time baking this using the same recipe but this time I used real buttercream icing suggested by one of the reviewer from the Philippines. I whipped 1c.unsalted butter until light and fluffy add 1/4 c. of powdered sugar a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of clear vanilla. The icing is not too sweet just right for the very sweet meringue. I added 1/2c. almond (chopped)in the icing and freeze it before eating. It reminds me of Goldilocks sansrival . Just a tip , I greased and flour the foil and baked the meringue for 10-13 more minutes,adjust oven rack in the middle and rotate the pan halfway. Remove the meringue while its hot and place them on a wire rack to cool.Thanks for the recipe. I think the yolk and butter mixture for the icing is way too sweet and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
i love this recipe! its not easy but.. its worth it :) anybody here knows how to make silvanas/sylvanas? can you email it to me? jaybors@gmail.com thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Really delicious Try Silvanas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Sans rival truly stands up to its name! Really delicious and extremely decadent. Just look at the ingredients! I had to reduce the sugar from 4 cups to 3 1/2 cups coz it was so sweet! My husband, a dessert connoisseur, said this is his absolute favorite dessert. I've made it 4 or 5 times now eventhough it's not easy to make. But I can assure you it's well worth the effort. People just rave about it! In the past, I used parchment paper but I had trouble removing the meringue cleanly. So I bought silicone baking mats and they did the trick! I waited a minute after removing the meringue from the oven and then I carefully peeled off the meringue from the silicone baking mat and the whole thing came right off! There's also nonstick aluminum foil available in the market but I haven't tried that yet. But if the meringue does break up, I find it doesn't matter a whole lot. It gets covered by the buttercream filling anyway and then frozen. Thanks a million for posting this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe.I grew up with this in the Philippines thanks so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe taste great! It can be very hard to make on the first try. There's one thing very important that was left out about the buttercream, and that is, after you mix the egg yolk and sugar mixture on high speed you need to chill it after that. Then when it's chilled you may mix in the butter spoonfulls at a time. If you don't do that the buttercream will come out liquidy. Also another mistake I made on my first try was trying to use wax paper. DO NOT USE WAX PAPER! Parchment paper is great! Thanks for the recipe I will definitely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States