Sans Rival Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i am having a problem of removing the baked merangue crust from the parchment paper...what should i do with it??? i live in a dry climate and im not sure if it has to do with it. I also used the "grease and flour" method but i really couldnt get the shell out of the pan...i fallowed the instructions carefully...is there any technique ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannie O.
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I love sans rivals and this recipe is a keeper. for those who doesn't have cream of tartar you can use (for 4 egg whites)1/2 tbsp vinegar, and 2 tbsp of cornstarch, add it in one tbsp at a time after egg white are already incorporated with sugar and is already stiff and glossy. this procedure helps stablelize the meringue. For the butter cream i just whipped up one brick (around 250g) 100% butter at room temp.(make sure you're not using margarine, cuz it would taste funny) until light and fluffy, added 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, a pinch of salt, 1 tbsp vanilla and 1/4 cup ground cashews then fold in 1/4 cup WHIPPED Cream. i find this twist gives a lighter nuttier butter cream. for those having some trouble with the meringue sticking, try cooking it a bit longer to make sure the bottom of the meringue is dry so you can easily peel away the parchment or aluminum foil (wax paper doesn't work for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe taste great! It can be very hard to make on the first try. There's one thing very important that was left out about the buttercream, and that is, after you mix the egg yolk and sugar mixture on high speed you need to chill it after that. Then when it's chilled you may mix in the butter spoonfulls at a time. If you don't do that the buttercream will come out liquidy. Also another mistake I made on my first try was trying to use wax paper. DO NOT USE WAX PAPER! Parchment paper is great! Thanks for the recipe I will definitely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
The buttercream filling is way too sweet and 'heavy'. I've tasted Sans Rival where the filling is truly light. There's got to be a trick to get the filling light aside from beating the butter until light and fluffy. I used a heavy duty stand mixer and still ended up with a 'heavy' filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is my second time baking this using the same recipe but this time I used real buttercream icing suggested by one of the reviewer from the Philippines. I whipped 1c.unsalted butter until light and fluffy add 1/4 c. of powdered sugar a pinch of salt and a teaspoon of clear vanilla. The icing is not too sweet just right for the very sweet meringue. I added 1/2c. almond (chopped)in the icing and freeze it before eating. It reminds me of Goldilocks sansrival . Just a tip , I greased and flour the foil and baked the meringue for 10-13 more minutes,adjust oven rack in the middle and rotate the pan halfway. Remove the meringue while its hot and place them on a wire rack to cool.Thanks for the recipe. I think the yolk and butter mixture for the icing is way too sweet and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This recipe is great but i tried adding 1/2 cup all purpose flour in the meringue mixture. After beating the egg whites, fold in the flour and the nuts, this made it easier to handle, plus after the meringue is cooked, try putting a very damp cloth a the back of the meringue for about a minute and i was able to tear the parchment paper easily. I love this recipe will will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
a wonderful recipe!! i added an extra five to ten minutes to the meringue baking time, and found that a crisper shell made it easier to handle. it also makes for an interesting play of textures-- a crunchy top with a firm and chewy center. magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Excellent, rich dessert. The preparation is involved and not for the novice, but well worth all the work. The buttercreme filling is exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I cooked the meringue an extra 5 minutes. I couldn't get filling right for this and gave up & just used a regular butter cream recipe w/ some rum flavoring added. Turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Sans rival truly stands up to its name! Really delicious and extremely decadent. Just look at the ingredients! I had to reduce the sugar from 4 cups to 3 1/2 cups coz it was so sweet! My husband, a dessert connoisseur, said this is his absolute favorite dessert. I've made it 4 or 5 times now eventhough it's not easy to make. But I can assure you it's well worth the effort. People just rave about it! In the past, I used parchment paper but I had trouble removing the meringue cleanly. So I bought silicone baking mats and they did the trick! I waited a minute after removing the meringue from the oven and then I carefully peeled off the meringue from the silicone baking mat and the whole thing came right off! There's also nonstick aluminum foil available in the market but I haven't tried that yet. But if the meringue does break up, I find it doesn't matter a whole lot. It gets covered by the buttercream filling anyway and then frozen. Thanks a million for posting this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States