Sangria! Sangria! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
The brandy is the key to this recipe! My step-mother (from Madrid) showed me how to make this. Use Spanish Rioja wine. I go a bit heavier with El Presidente brandy and go a bit easier on the fruit juices since that was what I was taught. I can see where some would prefer a sweeter version but me, I like the juice from the fruit to add their signature flavors, not anything else. Make sure to let it sit for several hours before serving. A definite party-maker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I made it for 50 servings & everyone absolutely loved it!!!! No sugar & used gingerale instead of carbonated water; used rum, not brandy; used peach schnapps, not triple sec. Refrigerated all ingredients night before. Made it early that afternoon & sat container in an ice chest. Added cold gingerale just prior to serving. Sooooo good! Can't wait to have another BBQ to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This IS the best sangria I have ever had. Definitely needs to sit at least overnight. I omitted the sugar and used 7-Up instead of the carbonated water. FABULOUS! I made three batches for a recent cookout and it was gone in the first hour. Thanks for this definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
680 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
A very forgiving recipe! We made this last night for a party, and everyone enjoyed it. (We made it last for an Easter gathering, with boisterous reviews.) Last night, one person switched from white wine to the Sangria and never went back! We made three changes because we think we are "Sangria Aficianados." We omitted the cherries and carbonated water, and added 1/2 cup Peach Schnapps, and substituted diet 7-Up for the water. Aside from the basic bones of this recipe (the wine, oranges, lemons, limes and specified liqours), many variation work. Apples and Pears work. We always add Brandy and Triple Sec and use 7-Up, but if something is not around or we run out, we find substitutes. I have friends who add dry fruit to their Sangria. (I think it is sweeter, but tasty. They used dried mango and pineapple.) This is really a great ice breaker at a party of friends or acquaintances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Oh my goodness! This is to die for! I made it for a backyard BBQ. My only mistake was making only a double batch! I was shocked to discover that the men would pass on beer for some sangria! Just a tip, it must sit overnight or longer! Also, don't mix the sprite or soda water. It doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Before I was a nobody. Now I'm famous for my sangria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I will admit that when I first made this recipe and took a sip I wasn't sure I would like it, but letting it sit for approximately 24 hours made all the difference in the world. The flavors from the sliced fruits really come out after the Sangria sits overnight. I doubled the recipe and it nearly made two quarts. I am not a maraschino cherry fan so I left those out. If you would like, you could add a little club soda to your glass to tone it down for those who cannot handle the stronger flavors of the alcohol. My husband liked this and thinks I should make it again. I concur! Great drink for warmer weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I thought this recipe was the most awful thing I have ever tasted. I go to Mexico every year and this was a far cry from the 'real thing'; absolutely nasty, I definitely do not recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Outstanding! I prepared this to go along side Thanksgiving dinner. It was a big hit - which is especially noteworthy because about half my guests were of Spanish heritage. I doubled the recipe and added a lot more fruit than is mentioned above, inlcuding peaches, pineapple, grapes, 4 different frozen berries and Mandarin oranges. I skipped the carbonated water and used Ginger Ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Loved it. Next time I would chop up the fruit more. Also I omited the frozen lemonade and added more lemon juice and sugar. I also added a little bit of lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States