Sangria! Sangria! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I like it, but I tweaked it to reduce the bitter/sour flavor. I halved the limes and halved the number of lemon rounds. I omitted the frozen lemonade concentrate. I used the sugar. Prior to serving, I added a bit of orange soda, to taste. I kept a six pack of orange soda on hand all night. I used smoking loon cabernet sauvignon for the first batch. People really liked it and it was finished quickly. I refilled with trader joe's $2 charles shaw cab and the correct proportions of brandy and triple sec. I kept orange soda on hand and kept refilling. Watch out for the bitterness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Not sweet enough. I added more soda and OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great Sangria Recipe! I added some raspberries and Pisco Brandy instead. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
The mix turned very sour overnight and was evident of the citrus rinds. I ended up using the sugar as well as adding 2 tsp of the maraschino cherry juice to sweeten and mask the overwhelming citrus aftertaste. I made a 20 serving batch so 3/4 cup of cherry juice was used to salvage my expensive concoction. In other words, there is quite a bit of sugar in this batch. I would suggest removing the rinds of the citrus in lieu of adding so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
We make this recipe (tripled, at least) every Christmas Eve. We mix it in a huge stock pot, cover it with plastic wrap, and keep it in a cooler in the back hall for the family to sip on, over Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The wine we use is often a Cabernet Sauvignon, or a Shiraz. The Brandy is a must. We have used both a cheaper "triple sec" and the patron orange liqueur. Since it is mixed, I recommend the triple sec. We generally leave out the sugar and leave the ginger-ale separate for individual servings. Everyone LOVES it. It certainly helps the holiday spirit as well, wink wink. This will be our third year making it. A family favorite, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Ive made this twice now, first time I doubled it and people complained I didn't make enough so second time I quadrupled it and it worked perfectly. I add every fruit I can put my hands on around the house, apples, pears, frozen berries, you name it. I also use peach schnapps instead of the triple sec. LOVE the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahGrace
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wow! this was great. Served it on Thanksgiving and followed recipe exactly. I did not use the optional sugar but did use the ginger ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a hit! I used ginger ale instead of sugar and sparkling water and it was perfect! 1 batch does a 2 quart pitcher - I made 2 batches to be safe and they are both gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The BEST sangria! I have made this for parties and everyone has always loved it, even then men who typically drink beer! I agree that it has to sit overnight, and the different modifications/substitutions mentioned in the reviews work, but it's good just as the recipe calls for. I typically leave out the soda and have used all different kinds of fruits...apples, pears, grapes, limes, lemons, oranges, etc. I've also used peach schnapps along with the brandy and triple sec. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I take the drink with me to all parties. Love it! It's a real hit! The only thing I do different is I add Sprite right before serving instead of the sugar and carbonated water. I also don't add cherries. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelanieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States