Sangria! Sangria! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I loved this recipe, but tweeted it a little for our tastes. I doubled the recipe, (used a Tempranillo for the red wine) added tequila, about a cup, also added fresh pineapple & a firm apple, cut into small pieces, a handful of grapes & a sliced kiwi to the fruit. I substituted a jar of natural bing cherries for the maraschino cherries (no artificial coloring or sugar additives) and used the cherry syrup in place of the sugar in the recipe. Then I used sparkling water rather than the lemon-lime soda. It came out great, everyone raved about it & wanted the recipe, which I posted the original on Facebook. Thanks, HJacoby, for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I replaced the triple sec with peach Schnapps. Nothing against the orange liqueur...I just wanted a different fruit liqueur that would complement the orange juice that's already a prominent flavor in this recipe. I also added a sliced peach along with the other fresh fruits. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I always make a double batch, use real lemon juice, merlot wine, sugar, cherry brandy, and ginger ale instead of carbonated soda. Also, let it marinate for at least 24 hours; that way the flavors marry and the wine has time to mellow out. A good trick to keeping it cold without ice, use frozen cherries! Yummy! It was gone in no time the first time I made it so I learned to make extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Made it for the second time last night. I add a little bit of the maraschino juice and use gingerly. I like the added zing from the ginger. I'll try using a flavored brandy next time for added flavor. This definitely is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Made this recipe for a bridal shower and the ladies LOVED it! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_lou_m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made this recipe so many times...and get loads of compliments each time. When the next person needs to make sangria, they always come to me for "my" recipe. I try to stick with the fruit listed in this recipe, but you can definitely make it with other fruits. Add the sugar to the cut up fruit, while you mix the other ingredients. Let it sit overnight and it's much better. I use tempranillo wine and have huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathiRM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was excellent. Used 2 cups of gingerale, but don't add until ready to serve. Also, remove limes and lemons within 4 hours or so as others suggested or else taste is too sour. Can add other fruit. Next time, make double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I didn't have enough triple sec and was out of orange juice. Mixed up what I had which was everything else. I only had 1/3rd the required amount of triple sec. I gave it a sample before going to get orange juice and more triple sec. It tasted great! Like all other good sangria's I've had. Got oj and ts, added, tasted again. Not as good. Left if fridge overnight. Again, not as good. The triple sec is just way to strong. Adds that synthetic orange type of flavor triple sec has and is just overbearing. I think using about 1/3 the recommended sugar is also a good idea. I didn't use carbonated water or ginger ale. Next time I make this I'm going to do it exactly to the recipe, but with only 1/4 of the oj, 1/4 the triple sec, and 1/3rd the sugar. I'm betting that will nail it. I'd advise you to taste as you add though, and add these 3 ingredients last. Dial it in how just how you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Best sangria recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I wish more people had mentioned if they used the optional ingredients. I added the sugar and probably didn't need to. So, because of that, we definitely ended up cutting the sweetness with some seltzer. I'd recommend no sugar and then hopefully you wouldn't need the seltzer. Overall it was good, but people definitely said it was a sweeter kind of Sangria. I used the Roijo that someone recommended. Maybe I'd try a different kind next time. Also, I would cut the rounds in half. The orange rounds were too big for the cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jet62879
Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 994) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States