Sangria! Sangria! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made this recipe so many times...and get loads of compliments each time. When the next person needs to make sangria, they always come to me for "my" recipe. I try to stick with the fruit listed in this recipe, but you can definitely make it with other fruits. Add the sugar to the cut up fruit, while you mix the other ingredients. Let it sit overnight and it's much better. I use tempranillo wine and have huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathiRM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was excellent. Used 2 cups of gingerale, but don't add until ready to serve. Also, remove limes and lemons within 4 hours or so as others suggested or else taste is too sour. Can add other fruit. Next time, make double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I didn't have enough triple sec and was out of orange juice. Mixed up what I had which was everything else. I only had 1/3rd the required amount of triple sec. I gave it a sample before going to get orange juice and more triple sec. It tasted great! Like all other good sangria's I've had. Got oj and ts, added, tasted again. Not as good. Left if fridge overnight. Again, not as good. The triple sec is just way to strong. Adds that synthetic orange type of flavor triple sec has and is just overbearing. I think using about 1/3 the recommended sugar is also a good idea. I didn't use carbonated water or ginger ale. Next time I make this I'm going to do it exactly to the recipe, but with only 1/4 of the oj, 1/4 the triple sec, and 1/3rd the sugar. I'm betting that will nail it. I'd advise you to taste as you add though, and add these 3 ingredients last. Dial it in how just how you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Best sangria recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I wish more people had mentioned if they used the optional ingredients. I added the sugar and probably didn't need to. So, because of that, we definitely ended up cutting the sweetness with some seltzer. I'd recommend no sugar and then hopefully you wouldn't need the seltzer. Overall it was good, but people definitely said it was a sweeter kind of Sangria. I used the Roijo that someone recommended. Maybe I'd try a different kind next time. Also, I would cut the rounds in half. The orange rounds were too big for the cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jet62879
Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was a big hit at Tapas party I hosted. I followed it to the letter, using Trader Joe's Velvet Moon cabernet sauvignon and including the optional 1/4 cup sugar and club soda. It only macerated for about 3 hours and had plenty of flavor. Personally, I found it a bit too sweet but not in an objectionable way. Next time I'll try it without the sugar. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Get recipe. Super delicious. I recommend using a Spanish tempranillo red wine to make it more authentically Spaniard. Very goo recipe non-theless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Great recipe made it for Bunco!! Doubled it and it was gone after the first round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNH4619

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doug
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I really liked the way this came out. I used Merlot for the red wine. I did leave out the suggested cup of sugar. I'm really glad I did because it's overly sweet without it. I didn't wait to let it sit overnight to try it and it was still good. I let it sit in the refrigerator for about 2 hours. Although, the leftover Sangria was better the next day after having sat in the fridge overnight. It would be nice to dial back the sugar even more-maybe less of the lemon frozen concentrate and replace with fresh lemon juice. The carbonated water was a nice addition and even helped dilute the sweetness of it. I added about 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and it made it even more delicious! -Cheers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sbfitzge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States