Sangria Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Made this for a Christmas Party last year and got rave reviews and several "this is the best Ham I've ever tasted!" Making again for Thanksgiving this year, but trying with a spiral sliced ham this time,(couldn't find whole ham)can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Made this for the first christmas dinner with my family and his family and it was a big hit! Everyone loved it, made it in the crock pot and made sure to baste it every 30 minutes. Came out moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
So moist and juicy when it comes out of the oven! We used about twice the liquid called for, as our first attempt left us with a burned ham. :( Our roasting pan is rather large, so we increased the liquid on our second attempt and the result was amazing - even my picky 5 year old ate every last bite and is looking forward to leftovers! Thanks for the great recipe, this is our new favorite way to cook ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is not the most delcious ham I have ever made. It was good but not worth the effort. I had to take it off heat 3 hours into the cooking process because it was black and smoking - even after tenting it. Once I removed the charred outer layer the ham was ok. Not moist but not really dry either. The cleanup is difficult - it will be days before I can get all the baked on sugar cleaned from my roaster. I will not be making this ham again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Simply amazing ham! To make it healthier, I replace the unsweetened pineapple juice with pineapple chunks pureed in a blender until it liquifies. This eliminates a lot of sugar and preservatives from the canned juice. I also cut down on the amount of brown sugar and replace some of it with apple sauce which has natural sweetening ability. I make my own sangria; that way I can control the ingredients in the sangria by adding or taking out anything I want. I also added some minced Vidalia onion to the brown sugar and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at making a ham and my family LOVED this!! I didn't have sangria, so I just used a red wine we had left over from the night before. Turned out fabulously, just as written. My only note: My ham instructions said to cook at 325 and I'm glad I did. 400 would have certainly dried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Great on the 1st day, even better for leftovers. It remained soooo juicy and flavorful for next day, I think more ppl have 2nd and 3rd that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Amazing I make this EVERY YEAR either for Christmas OR Easter, fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinazielen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We smoked a 13 pound ham using this basting. I didn't use as much brown sugar as the recipe calls for, I really wonder how you are supposed to get a whole pound of sugar to stick to a ham, I just pressed on the best I could. I added the juice of a fresh orange to the Sangria and pineapple. This was a very nice change from the super sweet coating of the normal honey glaze. The ham was moist and juicy. We had lots of wine left and didn't need the full 2 cups for smoking a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this and thought it was wonderful, but I turned the heat down to 325 degrees after the first 2 hours, and then down to 250 for the last hour and the temperature was right on. I kept the lid on the roaster after the first 20 minutes, and I used cab/shiraz wine. I also allowed it to rest for 1/2 hour before we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Balfour_Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States