Sangria by the Pros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Are you bloody kidding me?! This was incredible! I used to have bartender made sangria all the time in bistros in Quebec City. They were delicious. Then when I moved to Colorado, it was not served and lost touch with this excellent elixir. Move forward almost 15 years later, I go back to Quebec City just to realize that most people use a prepared mix (like margarita mix) and just add wine; what a travesty! So I looked up this recipe and...WOW! For those of you who have read some of my reviews I always make the recipes AS IS, at least the first time. Well, in this case, I could not find fresh pineapple and did not want the canned version, so I unfortunately had to leave it out. The outcome.... even a doubled recipe DISAPPEARED in less than a half-hour! Now I call that a stamp of approval. Here is a nice little trick though. If you've macerated the fruit in the brandy for the required amount of time, and don't server a lot of them in the actual drink, you can make a new batch in a pinch. Ok, it will not be "as good" as the first one, but it is better than not having sangria!!! Thank you so much for the recipe and having rekindled my love of sangria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karkar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Pretty good! I doubled the recipe and it was a hit at my party! I used less lime and more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Make sure to soak the fruit in the brandy. It is sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Love this version! Tastes very similar to one we have at a Tapas restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Yummy! Much easier than others I've tried. I only used the citrus fruits and added the Sprite at serving. If you have left overs to store for later, I'd recommend removing the fruit first. The rinds can make it bitter after a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Yep, this is it! Had to make a second batch cause the first went too fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was fantastic! I added a lot more soda and orange juice than the recipe called for. I also added some sugar water to made it sweeter for our tastes. The "drunk" fruit is really tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this for a hot camping trip and it was perfectly refreshing! This will be my go to, when entertaining in the summer!! I too doubled the batch and kept the fruit the same, then also added mango and blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

How to Make Sangria

See how to make this classic summer punch in three easy steps.

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States