Sandy's Sweet Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have to tell you, I was very nervous about following this recipe as written, but I'm glad I did. I only varied from the recipe in two minor details; one, I cooked on high for half the time, and two, I didn't rinse the sauerkraut, but I did drain. I am the kind of guy that likes sauerkraut and kielbasa or sausage in the slow cooker, all alone. Juice and all from the sauerkraut. So when I saw this, with the sweetness added and the juice drained, I didn't know where it would take me. I was really thinking about even eliminating the caraway, but I'm glad I put my faith in the recipe. I liked this perfect as written. Will I always make it this way? Probably not, but I will definitely make it again, just as written. As much of a fan of the sourness of sauerkraut that I am, I didn't find this too sweet at all. The onions kind of got absorbed in and I didn't notice them, but I'm sure they added to the experience. The carrots were a nice diversion. 5 stars MellieLynn. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by KerryJonez
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe. I substituted beer for the liquid and served it over homemade mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Fantastic !! Don't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very Good and Sweet, Next imd I'll leave the apples larger .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Would give it 5 stars except that I changed a little and don't think it's right to give a 5 if I've added/changed anything. Basic recipe is very good. Used beer instead of water, and sautéed everything before putting it all together in crock pot. Also added some ground mustard to fit our taste. We all loved it! Think sautéing before helps meld the flavors even more. THanks for the recipe. It's now in my favorites slot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very good! I had very little brown sugar (probably about 1/4 cup or less) so that is all I used and it was fine. I don't think I would want it much sweeter. I had frozen smoked sausage and was going to be in and out all day so I went ahead and added it at the beginning. Served with homemade potato salad it was a heavenly meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this exactly like the recipe said except that I left out the carrots simply because I didn't have any. Also, I cooked it on top of the stove as it was a last minute meal. It was delicious! Next time I will double the kielbasa because we had quite a bit of sauerkraut left over. I will definitely make this again1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I have used this site many times and have found some very good recipes but have never made the effort to rate until making this for New Year's.It took me back many years ago,to my late mother and her family who were of Eastern European descent.Followed the recipe as written,with the exception of the caraway seeds that were not available in my local stores.I also used a skinless smoked sausage that I had on hand,cutting it in sandwich size pieces and adding,in error,at the beginning.Stirred a couple of times during cooking and the aroma filled the kitchen.Following tradition,I served it with mashed potatoes and corn.Received rave reviews even from my sister who,in the past,said she did not like sweetened kraut.It was even better the next day.Adding this to my recipe book.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Nice recipe. I cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup and used chicken broth instead of water cuz I had it left over from another recipe. Authentic, polish dish. I served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States