Sandy's Summer Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My husband and I LOVED this sausage! I made a couple of changes and it turned out great! First, I used venison, added 1/2 teas. onion powder and since my husband cannot have nuts or seeds, I left out the mustard seeds. I personally do not like summer sausage, BUT this is absolutely DELICIOUS!!! We will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Honestly, I was so excited to make this. I followed the recipe to a T, and was so disappointed with the outcome. Personally, I don't think it tastes nearly as good as store bought. It was definitely missing something. Maybe regular salt as well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this is for rev chip, add high temp cheddar & jalapenas & its an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Easy to make, but a little bland for our tastes. Next time (probably this weekend), I'll pump up the spices a bit, add some smoked habanero and maybe some cheese, and finish them in the smoker at 200 for a few hours instead of the oven. Thanks to ND24 for the advice! *After making this several times, what works for us is: 1. Let the mixture cure for 3 days instead of one. Mix it each morning. It makes the texture even better. 2. I added two chopped smoked habanero peppers and a quarter cup of sharp shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I Like this recipe very much. I plan on trying some of the others for there flavor but they will be cooked per this instructions. The only thing I plan on changing is amount of mustard seeds it was way to much for my liking. instead of 2 tablespoons I will be putting in 2 teaspoons other then that this is a keeper. Will me making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
THis has an interesting flavor, but it tastes more like a hamburger with flavors added. It also does not look very good when it comes out of the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is absolutely AWESOME!! My husband is a hunter and unfortunately I'm not fond of anything that has a hint of "gamey" flavor. I'm always looking for a new way to disguise deer meat but I've found that with many recipes I still can't "fool" myself. Not so with this one! The only substitution I made was deer meat for the ground. It came out perfect and I agree with other reviews, it has WAY more flavor than the store bought. This will go in my permanent recipe collection. Definitely a keeper! We can't wait to see what happens when we add jalapenos and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it 15+ times. First time I made it exactly as written. Five stars as written. My family likes there sausage slightly hot so next time I added jalapenos chopped. I have also added chunks of cheese. Very good recipe without the hassle of a smoke house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This summer sausage is great!!! I think next time I'll make a double batch...it went way too fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe I keep it made and in the freezer all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States