Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was very popular in WWII. YOu had to extend your food as much as possible, and one thing more easily available were weiners and bologna chubs. By grinding it with fillers, you could get more sandwiches than serving one weiner per person. These were called Victory Spreads. Helping to bring our boys home with our Victory Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Wow does this ever bring back memories! My Grandma used to make this for every birthday party. She had an old fashioned meat grinder she used to use - thank God for food processors! She'd add a little dill pickle juice and maybe some chopped celery to add a little "crunch" but other than that this is a pretty simple and straightforward recipe. It's great on little potato rolls or white bread with the crusts removed and cut into little triangles. Kids go nuts for these and a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I must agree with Uncle Foxy. Mom made this for 10 years, calling it "Ham Salad". After grinding the bologna, process a quarter of onion and 2 strips of celery through grinder. This makes a good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
What an awesome recipe to find on here! I remember making this with my Great Grandma when I was younger. She would get out the heavy hand cranked meat grinder, and let me put the ingredients through. Sometimes we would add hard boiled eggs, onions, or cheese as well. Always finished by running a few saltines through the grinder. We always called it "Monkey Meat". Not sure where the name came from...but that's what it is to me! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I grew up eating this, too, only Grandma used bologna from Canada. Nothing against American bologna but Canadian bologna is just way better. Grandma also added half an onion and a little mustard. If you're looking for something to compare it to, it's kind of like deviled ham spread only with bologna. It's really like nothing you've ever had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a blast from the past. I found this recipe completely by accident. Growing up in Pennsylvania, this was a lunchbox staple. I don't know how often I'll make it because my picky kids think it's weird, but I really enjoyed it! Thanks for bringing back a wonderful childhood memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I grew up eating this and calling it ham salad. I was very surprised to learn later in life that ham salad could be made with HAM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Fine dining indeed. I remember Mom making this for us kids back in the 60s and we'd have friends over during the summer for lunch and she'd give us a big bowl of it with a loaf of bread and Kool Aid and send us all out to the patio and we were in Kid Heaven. Thanks for the good memory and hence that's why I gave it 5 "stars".!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicklet
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! First thing I made in my new food processor! New staple in my refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Made this just a few months ago, using the old fashioned grinder that I bought at an estate sale. My Mom's recipe. The same as above but you add a boiled egg and some American cheese to the grinded ingredients. Instead of pickle relish, you grind sweet pickles into the mix. It was always served with spaghetti soup (cooked spaghetti, butter, milk, salt and pepper). I am sure that it was a "Depression era meal" but I love it so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States