Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Not bad, if you like bologna! This is exactly what we used to do with that tube of liverwurst you get in the lunchmeat section - mash with mayo and pickles! Good sandwiches though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was very popular in WWII. YOu had to extend your food as much as possible, and one thing more easily available were weiners and bologna chubs. By grinding it with fillers, you could get more sandwiches than serving one weiner per person. These were called Victory Spreads. Helping to bring our boys home with our Victory Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I grew up eating this and calling it ham salad. I was very surprised to learn later in life that ham salad could be made with HAM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I must agree with Uncle Foxy. Mom made this for 10 years, calling it "Ham Salad". After grinding the bologna, process a quarter of onion and 2 strips of celery through grinder. This makes a good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! First thing I made in my new food processor! New staple in my refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a blast from the past. I found this recipe completely by accident. Growing up in Pennsylvania, this was a lunchbox staple. I don't know how often I'll make it because my picky kids think it's weird, but I really enjoyed it! Thanks for bringing back a wonderful childhood memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I grew up eating this, too, only Grandma used bologna from Canada. Nothing against American bologna but Canadian bologna is just way better. Grandma also added half an onion and a little mustard. If you're looking for something to compare it to, it's kind of like deviled ham spread only with bologna. It's really like nothing you've ever had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Wow does this ever bring back memories! My Grandma used to make this for every birthday party. She had an old fashioned meat grinder she used to use - thank God for food processors! She'd add a little dill pickle juice and maybe some chopped celery to add a little "crunch" but other than that this is a pretty simple and straightforward recipe. It's great on little potato rolls or white bread with the crusts removed and cut into little triangles. Kids go nuts for these and a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
We grew up on this however we made it with balogna, cheese(such as slices of american), sweet pickles, onion, and mayo. We still have get-togethers and somebody always has to bring balogna grind. We always used a meat grinder. Run pickles and onions through last to clean out grinder. Also our school made a version of this in the 60's. Don't knock it until you try it. May also add boiled eggs but will last longer in frig. if you don't. LOVE IT AND WAYS A REAL TREAT GROWING UP. Can use canned meats such as spam, luncheon meat or commadoties canned meat that people get in commadoties or Indian rations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States