Sandra's Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Tried this recipe but made it gluten free by replacing the all-purpose flour with 3/4 cup tapioca flour. I knew the texture would end up being considerably different. Had to bake it for 45 to 60 minutes. Once it completely cools down and has collapsed all the way down to just a 1/4 inch thick, it taste GREAT!!! My wife and friend who can't eat gluten devoured almost all of it. The texture is like a cross between a very dense custard and jello. Throw some whipped cream on top and start eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I have made this pudding recipe several times. I take this every year to our family's Fall celebration at the Parke Co. Covered Bridge Festival...the recipe couldn't be easier and it bakes up perfectly...add a dollop of whipped cream and you've got Persimmon Paradise :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very thin, sweet, and a lot of work for not a very good product. I think I'll make persimmon bread next time I have them laying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe is delicious and apparently fairly forgiving. I had 3 persimmons, so that's what I used, I did not measure them, I just peeled them and stuck them in the blender...I also used 1 cup of sweetened condensed milk and 1/4 of skim milk instead of the 1 1/4 c milk it called for...then I added a dash of ground cloves and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. I baked it in a glass pie dish for 40 minutes and it is absolutely delicious and set up perfectly. I like it a little thicker, so the pie dish worked beautifully for my taste. I was not expecting such wonderful results since I so loosely followed the directions. It was a little lighter in color than I remember my grandmothers being, but it was also fluffier - I'm not sure that's the right word because persimmon pudding is by no means fluffy, but regardless, I really like it and I can't wait for my husband to get home and try it. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe - I will make it again and again! (I also like the fact that there is no liquor in this recipe. Don't get me wrong, I like a good stiff drink, but I don't like alcohol in my food, particularly in my desserts, I think it ruins the flavor of the fruit or chocolate or whatever it's being blended with so thanks again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Good recipe. I baked mine in a 11 x 7 for 30 minutes and it came out fine; very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Yummy! This is the recipe I will stick with. Smooth consistency and great flavor. It smelled so good while it was baking. My 6 yr. old daughter is learning to cook and this recipe was great for her because she just threw all the ingredients in the blender, pushed the button and it was ready for the oven! It comes out about 1/2 inch thick but that's how we like it, with a dollop of Cool Whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
very nice! I had some left over persimmon pulp in my freezer from the holiday's. I wish I would have had this recipe then! It was very easy to make! During Christmas I searched for recipes on the internet, friends, family...etc, what I came up with was good, but I think this was what I was looking for. I had it right out of the oven so I will be curious to see how it tastes when it has chilled overnight. I can already tell it is better than what I made for Christmas. I live in Indiana currently, and I have heard that there are many persimmon pudding critics here, I think they might be impressed with this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I'm not sure what I did here but this didn't work for me. It was a flat mushy mess!!! The flavor was good but something didn't work right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Very good persimmon pudding... we served it hot with a dollop of ice cream... hit the spot without being too rich...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is probably a very good recipe, but I made a grave tactical error: Do NOT put this in a loaf pan. I wanted to give this as a gift, and a 9x13 pan just isn't a size appropriate for gift giving. I used a regular-sized loaf pan. I also added 1/4 c. of golden raisins because persimmon pud just isn't right without them. What a mistake!!! I baked it more than twice the directions at a slightly higher temp, and it never set in the center, when i turned it out, I got a lumpy, goopy glob. The crust was delicious, but this recipe isn't something that can be converted without adding extra eggs and more flour to bind it. I'd try it again, but not for gifts, and certainly never in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States