Sand Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
These have been a Christmas favorite of my son's since he was a little boy. He's 27 years old now,and I've been making these a lot longer than THAT! Delicate, melt in your mouth, buttery good. I always up the vanilla to 1 T. and also add a teaspoon of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is my families traditional Christmas cookie since my childhood. I lost my recipe and this one is the same, except we call ours pecan sandies. It do think they could be just a tad bit more sweet though. I may use 3/4 c powdered sugar next time. Real butter makes these fall apart soft...like I like them. You can also use one t vanilla and one t almond or lemon extract for a little more variety in taste. My kids liked it w/ the almond extract and a little lemon rind mixed in. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I found this recipe extremely easy to make. Fantastic taste and texture. I left the nuts out, and rolled them in wax paper, then refrigerated them so that I could slice and bake them. It worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These cookies are addicting. I'm serious - I make them And I can't take my hands off of 'em! I made them word for word several times, and they are wonderful. Next I'm going to try substiuting honey for sugar ........... 5+ Stars :) *******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Austen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Amazing, amazing, amazing! I made the cookies early this afternoon and they're already gone! The only change I made was to roll the cookies in powdered sugar the second they came out of the oven - it eliminated the need to sweat them in the ziplock bag. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great recipe. An aunt used to make these years ago and I haven't been able to find a recipe that came out like hers. This is the ONE. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
i loved these. didn't alter the recipe at all - but i may try the almond extract as others have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe has been in my family for almost 150 years. Grandma used 1 3/4 cups of flour and used finely diced pecans, but they are the best cookies you'll ever eat! I made 200 for christmas and they lasted about 5 hours between 15 people :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very yummy. Similar to Russian teacakes or Mexican Wedding Cookies. Chill dough in freezer for a quicker process. Also, don't worry about the dough being crumbly when you shape it into a ball. For purposes of appearance, I would shape them into perfectly round balls or into crescent moons. They don't spread out, so your initial shape is what you get. 20 minutes was perfectly timed. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I enjoyed make these cookies for the first time. I made them for my best friend, I am sorry to say there wasn't much left for her to take home that night. (We ate most of them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States