Sand Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Grammy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
What a wonderful surprise to find this particular recipe! I used to make these as a teenager. In fact, I made these for the first date I had with my now husband of 52-1/2 years! Our 5 children have given us 20 grandchildren and now there are 5 great grandchildren as well. It's always a challenge to have something affordable for so many people for Christmas! This year all will be receiving a few of these Sand Tarts + the recipe and their 'history' in our family. CHANGES I MADE: pecans instead of walnuts (we had a big old pecan tree in the backyard of my childhood home); no chilling; balls a tiny bit larger, then rolled into small logs and curved into crescent shape; no steaming in brown bag. Thank you, Robin! Once more you have made my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very yummy. Similar to Russian teacakes or Mexican Wedding Cookies. Chill dough in freezer for a quicker process. Also, don't worry about the dough being crumbly when you shape it into a ball. For purposes of appearance, I would shape them into perfectly round balls or into crescent moons. They don't spread out, so your initial shape is what you get. 20 minutes was perfectly timed. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
i loved these. didn't alter the recipe at all - but i may try the almond extract as others have recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These cookies were perfect. Just like my Nana's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These cookies are addicting. I'm serious - I make them And I can't take my hands off of 'em! I made them word for word several times, and they are wonderful. Next I'm going to try substiuting honey for sugar ........... 5+ Stars :) *******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Austen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This recipe has been in my family for almost 150 years. Grandma used 1 3/4 cups of flour and used finely diced pecans, but they are the best cookies you'll ever eat! I made 200 for christmas and they lasted about 5 hours between 15 people :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Amazing, amazing, amazing! I made the cookies early this afternoon and they're already gone! The only change I made was to roll the cookies in powdered sugar the second they came out of the oven - it eliminated the need to sweat them in the ziplock bag. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
These have been a Christmas favorite of my son's since he was a little boy. He's 27 years old now,and I've been making these a lot longer than THAT! Delicate, melt in your mouth, buttery good. I always up the vanilla to 1 T. and also add a teaspoon of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Great recipe. An aunt used to make these years ago and I haven't been able to find a recipe that came out like hers. This is the ONE. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States