Sand Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Easy and super cute! I used 2 pkg of ff french vanilla pudding and doubled the milk, but kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I put 1/2 of the crushed cookies on the bottom (I used a new sand pail and shovel) and the other 1/2 on the top- none mixed in. I topped with some Swedish fish. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawgymama
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
OMG! I am making these for my daughters bday for school and I added little mini chocolate chips to the pudding mixture and I just sampled it! It is yummy out of this world good! I didn't expect it to be so delicious! I think the chocolate chips made it!! I also used 3 cups of milk, 1 lrg pudding and 1 sm pudding package and two teaspoons of vanilla extract for a more thickness and barvarian flavor. I am putting them in mini beach pails with shovels for the kids to eat with and decorating the top with all kinds of cute things. I will post a picture later!! PS... used my Ninja blender/chopper for wafers and they came out just like sand in seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Cute dessert for the kids. I think next time I will skip the crumbs in the pudding and only use them at the bottom of the cup and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by See2Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I use this recipe all the time. My kids love it and request it as a special dessert whenever they are asked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I folded crumbs into one and one without. The one with crumbs in the pudding mixture itself was thick and almost gummy. The one without crumbs folded into the pudding was excellent. Kinda like the texture of nuts and ice cream. Next time I will have everything ready and assemble the cups at the last minute. I liked this as much as the kids. If you like mousse, cream pies, and anything with whipped cream, this is your dessert! I would wait until the last minute to top with sand and worms because I think the dry texture of the "sand" is best as a contrast. Nilla wafers were so nice and deeply vanilla. Wonderful combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This recipe was a huge hit with the playgroup that we are in. I made them as a snack to compliment a "sand/water playdate" and the kids loved them! I followed the recipe exactly using individual clear cups for the kids. I topped them off with little gummie penguins to simulate a beach.. and put some blue jello on half to simulate water (Yes, I know.. Penguins dont go on a beach, but it was adorable!) - The kids love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amphiktere

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Quick dessert and very good. I tried to make this a little healthier: instead of instant pudding mix I bought organic pudding already done, then I omitted the milk and used organic vanilla waffles. The kids didn't care for this but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this with my kids and we had so much fun! They love these kind of desserts! UPDATE - I made this again - but this time I used chocolate pudding - both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are a fun "food project" to do with kids. My son and my nieces enjoyed making the pudding, crushing the cookies (I put the cookies in a ziploc bag and let the kids smash them with a rolling pin)and layering everything in the glasses. As far as taste goes, they were good but the kids prefer the "mud" version with oreo's and chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I tried this recipe and it was a big hit at the birthday party for my granddaughter.I used mini sand pails that were about 3 inches tall.I washed the pails and followed the cup recipe.Kids thought it was so much fun to eat out of the pails.Then they took the pails home for their party favor.This would be great to make any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States