Sancocho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by buttrfly595
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I changed the chicken to beef and added corn , celery and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe was very delicious. For one of the comments below Ajiaco is not Columbian, it's the Cuban version of sancocho but the Cuban version has corn, pumpkin, malanga and stew meats in it. Dominican sancocho is also like the cuban version. Regardless all of them are very delicious and very Hispanic/Latin American. One pot wonder. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This stuff really is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
this did not come out at all how I had hoped. reviews were so good but I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Suggest cutting plantain into smaller pieces, yuca could be shaved instead of adding in chunks, and add 1Tbsp chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was a good soup. Not as hearty as the Caribbean version, the one from the Dominican Republic has more ingredients: Culantro, cilantro, more root vegetables, different meats, chicken, beef, sausage. I will upload my dominican version soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcintyreknox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Taste just like the Sancocho I had growing up in Panama! A few changes to make it more Panamanian: Leave out the onion/tomato garnish (the soup really doesn't need it), add a can of corn, triple the cilantro, and if you don't have yucca or calabasa don't worry about it add more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Delicious! Very simple, good and cheap! Leg quarters are usually inexpensive and the veggies didn't cost much either. I was hesitant about the plantain but it's good!! I couldn't find yucca but it still turned out great. The onion and tomato topping is a must!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I vary this recipe with different combinations of ñame, yuca, green and ripe plantains, malanga and various spices. As for the issue of the origin of the soup, you have to go back further than pre-Panama. Sancocho in Latin America, especially the Caribbean, evolved from both Puchero Canario and Sancocho of the Canary Islands, which were brought with "Canarios" -- Canary Islanders who emigrated to Latin America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I was very glad to find a good recipe for sancocho on here! It was one of my favorite things when I lived in Panama. Incidentally, several people are a bit confused with terminology, so I wanted to clear this up: cassava = yuca = tapioca. They are identical, just different names for the exact same plant. So you don't need to substitute yuca for cassava... it's the same! Also, it's "yuca" not "yucca". The later is a completely different plant and not related to the one used here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States