San Francisco Style Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I love Montreal bagels so I was hoping for a similar bagel. There is some similarity, but still did not hit the mark for my dream bagels. I would add less salt to the boiling water next time. Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Sharon Leuschner
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were fun! They are a little different then what we are used to, but they are very flavorful and I could see doing some different things with them in the future....poppy seed, garlic, cheese toppings. My only complaint is you would need to make them the night before in order to enjoy them in the morning....makes you really appreciate neighborhood bakeries! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Leuschner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by lucininiz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very tasty, but I'm from Argentina and this was the first time I made them because I've never eaten bagels and I wanted to try them. But I love bread and I thought that these were very good. I recommned adding a little bit more of salt, I added 2 tsp. I made them with all-purpose flour and they turned out good, I just let the dough proof a bit longer just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucininiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
these are the best bagels I have ever made once you get use to making them you can start adding what you like I am a everything bagel girl and OMG these are awesome really give them a try you will never buy a store bought bagel again easy and really really good great recipe Chef John like always
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe is ok. I found another recipe that recommended broiling them for 2 min per side before boiling. It makes a huge difference in the quality of the bagel. The crust that is formed during broiling helps it hold up when boiling. I tried it both ways. Though both are edible, the one that was broiled first was much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made these more like Montreal-style bagels by adding sugar to the dough and rolling the dough into ropes and hand forming the bagels by joining the ends. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Never made bagels before and these were excellent! 1 lb of bread flour was about 3-1/2 cups, but did add a bit more as they were still a bit too moist. Next time, I'd use less salt in the water bath and adjust by adding more honey. It is important to make sure your baking sheet is prepared with parchment as once you do the egg wash they will otherwise stick (even with some cornmeal. I forgot to do this on one sheet (whoops), but got them off while they were still hot. Next time I may experiment by adding cheeses or changing using half wheat flour to "attempt" to add some more nutrition to the bagel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
these were so simple. I don't know why I have been buying bagels all these years. Great tasting doesn't even describe how good they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made these yesterday...it's going to be my go to bagel recipe now!LOVED it...simple to make and so tasty. Thank you chef John:) They are also great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
These were not bad, but I just did not get the crispness that was shown in the video, but I am no pro so that may explain it. But, in retrospect the bagels made a mean sandwich so can't complain!!! Thanks Chef John for another fantastic recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States