San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a wonderful delicious bread. It had a light tang to it due to the sourdough starter. However, it did not have the density that I would expect from a San Francisco Sourdough. Instead, it was light and the mouth feel was more like the French bread that they bake in the grocery stores (though the taste of this was much better). My husband loved the taste and texture of this bread, and I do, too, it's just not a true sourdough to me. I baked two loaves specifically for use in grilled cheese sandwiches. Again, my husband thought the texture was great, but I didn't think it held up well to hardier ingredients (there's no way, for instance, that this would work for a sourdough burger). Although I'm only giving it 4 stars, I will make this bread again. It's a good every day bread, especially for kids (my daughter doesn't like crust but was willing to eat it on this bread). I missed the chewiness of a true sourdough, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used my bread machine to mix and knead this dough and it came out wonderful! It was enough to make one loaf and four smallish bread-bowl sized loaves. I did not use the egg wash or the onion, but I did put a ramekin of water in the oven with the bread. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good bread! I used a new starter (6 days old) so the flavour was not super sour-doughy but still very good. I made one with onions and one without and the one with onions was much more flavourful. Will update if changes with an older or better starter. Thankds for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
A delicious bread. Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This bread is amazing! It was easy to make and my family loved it! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I just remove my sourdough from the oven and they look beautiful and my husband just cut one of those and said that this is great, the taste of sour is not strong even if I let my starter for 2 weeks. The texture and flavor still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as stated. I did have to let the dough rise longer than stated but its winter in Michigan so that could have something to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grrrlgone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Made it this morning, loved it. I think the starter really makes it more or less like sourdough. BUT i thought mine was just a little too dense and compact, any ideas for a lighter fluffier bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe with a few modifications. First off I don't care for the onion so I eliminated the egg, water and onion from the recipe. Second, using "all" bread flour makes it too fluffy and difficult to cut so I cut the flour 50/50 with general purpose and bread flour. I don't raise my bread in front of a heat source. I lightly oil a large bowl and the dough ball, and place it on a surface where there is good normal room temperature. No direct sun just steady temps. I raise mine for at least two sometimes three hours. I punch the dough down, let it rest for 15 then divide and form my loaves. I do not over handle my dough. I cut it in half, form it and put it on a cookie sheet to raise an additional two hours. I also lightly spray the loaves with oil, mainly to keep the plastic wrap from sticking. I weigh my flour. There is so much variance in packed and unpacked flour I found 120 grams per cup works perfectly every time. I only use King Arthur flours. These flours are non Bro-mated and healthier. If you are diabetic or pre-diabetic, Sourdough has been shown to be better for you. Or at least not as bad as other breads. The sour in the sourdough slows digestion thus slowing the rapid rise in blood glucose that all other flours do. Just a tid bit fact. Do the research yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe turned out AMAZING - the bread was very soft after rising beautifully and had a very nice dark- golden outside. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States