San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by John Bolton
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I've made a number of sourdough bread recipe. This is one I will use often because it is not labor intensive and the flavor is mild. JT's idea of sesame seeds is great. I made it in two loaf pans and it makes great toast or sandwich bread. Crispy crust & soft crumb. Not as chewy as other sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Bolton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe! I'm new to sourdoughs, but it came out wonderful. Used half to make sourdough bread bowls with my crab bisque. Hubby thought it was so good, he asked me to make more bowls for the leftover bisque! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Holmes Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This bread was very easy and tasted good. We really enjoyed it for french toast. I will make again soon to see how much my sourdough starter has changed. I did not add the onions or do the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was just ok. I left my starter out for almost 2 weeks, feeding it, etc., etc. (Used the "Sourdough Starter" recipe from this site). After 8 days, I tried to make it without adding the additional yeast per the reviewer who claims to be a san francisco sourdough guru. I didn't just have to leave it for 2-3 hours, it was actually 2 days later that it still hadn't risen to double. Had to throw the batch out. The second time around I added the yeast per the recipe (proofed it first) and still found it took over 1.5 hours to double the first time. One hour for the second rise. Cooked it 40 minutes and the crust was still soft and the insides somewhat spongy. This bread just wasn't sour enough to be a good sourdough and too sour to be a good white. The outcome just was't nearly worth the effort. Sorry! I love the Mama D's Italian bread recipe from this site and make it twice a week. I think I will stick with that from now on and just buy my sourdough at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
It's not the best bread I have ever had in my entire life, but it was still really good. My starter is only 10 days or so old, so it's not particularly sour, but it smells to high heaven before being used and it's made three loaves in the bread machine with a distinct sour taste. This wasn't so much sour, but it was really tasty fresh from the oven with a thin layer of butter. I made two loaves in loaf pans instead of rounds on a baking sheet, one without onions on top and the other with, and it worked out well. The crust is thick and crunchy, and smells like pretzels. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBitFae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
excellent bread. Smooth texture, not crumbly. excellent in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I also use water instead of milk and don't add the onion on top, but other than that, it is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was so good the kids ate it up!! I left off the onions sliced and made into garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Steward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Delicious! I don't know if "San Francisco" has a different taste than anyother bread; but this one was a delicious sourdough bread, even without the chopped onions. I used my own starter that I prepared for 5 days prior to making the loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States