San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Love everything about this recipe, except for one thing: I can't add nearly the amount of flour the recipe specifies! Maybe it is a matter of how wet your sour dough starter is, but my dough is about right when I've added three cups of bread flour, rather than the 4-3/4 called for in the recipe. I also add two tablespoons of vital wheat gluten, to make the dough rise better and be lighter in texture. Of all the sourdough recipes I've tried, this is the one my family prefers! I did a side-by-side taste test with three different recipes, and every member of my family liked this one best. Great flavor, light texture, nice crust. . . If you are an inexperienced baker, add the flour slowly. If you are using a dough hook, watch for when the dough begins to form a ball around the hook, and cleans the sides of the bowl. If you stop the mixer, it should relax into the bowl, but still hold a shape, rather than look like a stiff batter. Softer doughs will give a more tender bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I had to use 2 cups of starter to get it to pull together, other than that it turned out great. I did omit the onion because true sourdough bread has none. The flavor was excellent. Those people who have said that it did not have a true sourdough flavor should blame their starter not the recipe. If you are working with a young starter, it is not going to have the deep sourdough flavor. My starter is over 25 years old so I found exactly what I was looking for with this recipe. Thanks for sharing, it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Love this sourdough bread, though the sourdough taste is very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Makes -great- toast. The onion compliments well, and for next loaf I am going to mix in 1/4 cup minced onion. I wonder what baking in fresh garlic from my garden would add? One tweak at a time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I baked in a Romertopf Clay Pot so it had a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
First of all, I have a well established starter to work with, so that helps. This recipe is awesome! I don't put onions on top, but other wise, I follow it exactly with perfect results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika55734

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was very good. I used this recipe to make two loaves with my week-old starter. I made it completely by hand, and found the hour rise was not quite enough, despite being in my oven with the light on. I also found the 30 minutes bake time too long. A couple weeks later, I made this recipe with my KitchenaAid, and shaped them into large kaiser rolls. Delicious with our pulled pork sandwiches! Maybe it was because my starter had aged, or because I let the dough rise for over two hours each stage. Either way, I cooked the rolls for 13 minutes at 375 degrees....perfect! (and I skipped the onion and egg wash both times). Will save to my favorites as a go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerrillCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cz375hh
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is our go to #1 will not fail bread--Herman is maturing and keeps getting better. Made 2 loaves for our family & friends Easter dinner gathering. Lots of compliments, request for the recipe, and a nice tally of people getting up for seconds and thirds of just bread which does not need butter.Will submit a photo later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
really nice sour dough bread from a starter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This time I made the recipe with 1/2 cup quick oats 1/4 cup wheat flour 4 cups bread flour. No egg wash because I think it darkened the bread too much. Backed for 25 minutes PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States