San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I pulled out of my oven 2 beautiful loaves of bread - one I braided for a little fun! Delicious and fluffy, this bread did not have a strong sourdough taste, but none of the less disappeared in about 1 hr to my family of 5. After feeding my starter daily for about 1 week, I'd have to recommend the 'Sourdough Starter Recipe' from this website for my fellow newbie bread bakers. Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Just made this (using a two-year old Sourdough Starter II from this site), and my fiance wanted to propose to me again (as he solo-finished the first loaf). Would give it 5 stars, except I did tweak it a tiny bit: used half whole wheat flour and butter and skipped the egg wash and onions. That said, it was an absolutely perfect yeast bread-baking day (hot and humid), and our starter is probably really interesting because we live in a 100 year old house AND we brew beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I quartered the recipe for my first small loaf and it was delicious. I wish I had managed a teensy bit crisper crust. And the inside was almost cake like. Moist and airy. I would like to know how to achieve those big holes and more *peasant* like bread. My starter (Sour Dough Starter # 2) is brand new so not terribly sour but the bread had great flavor. I will keep this recipe and keep trying to improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I just made this my starter sat for 4 days but I kept it at room temp and fed it every 12 hours it was awesome and so smelled like sd bread once my starter sits for longer it will be even better, this was my first time making sd bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
My daughter and I (she is 12) made this sourdough at Easter and again today. A very easy to make bread with great flavour. We are hoping that the more mature starter we now have will add a deeper sour flavour to the loaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I first have to say, this was my first attempt making a sourdough bread. This was also my first time using a starter. This was my first time attempting to grow a starter which I've been doing for the past week. I read ALL the reviews and I decided to follow some of the modifications of leaving out the milk, yeast, and onions. I think the onions would be lovely, but I wanted to go real basic this time. I also used my bread machine to do the dough prep as I don't have a stand mixer. :( I put it together, got it mixed up and balled up in the bread machine and left it for several hours. When I came back I was disappointed it didn't appear to rise. I 'punched' it down, although it was already down pretty much and put it on a baking pan to rise in the oven w/ the light on. Nothing really happened. I was going to toss it, but then I thought to go ahead and bake it and see at least the flavor. The bread rose quite well once it was in the oven although it was a rather weird shape. The flavor was wonderful!!! The open cell structure is fantastic and even though mine was a little denser than I suspect it will be in the future...it really came out w/a GREAT taste. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe is very good. I prefer to add dry onion flakes to the dough @ 1 tbsp per cup of flour as an alternative to scattering fresh onions on top of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Dilemma…should I rate this 1 because it does not resemble San Francisco Sourdough at all and I was disappointed, or 5 because it is a nice, very soft and tenderly chewy bread that resembles a very sour buttermilk loaf? All the pictures attached to this recipe verify that the results are uniformly fine grained and smooth, the opposite of SF Sourdough, which has a substantial chewiness, course uneven holes and a very crisp crust. I made this exactly per directions using my 30-year old starter, making it into 2 loaves to take to a birthday/St. Patty’s Day party as a spinach dip bowl with the second loaf cut up for dippers. After the dip and dippers were gone, people hovered around like vultures to grab the remains while I cut up the actual bowl. People loved the bread for itself, making comments that it wasn’t like a typical crunchy sourdough. (This is CA and we get SF Sourdough straight from 1st prize winning SF’s LaBrea Bakery.) So, they liked it. I might make it again and rename it “Soft Sourdough Sandwich Loaf” with some slight changes for my own file. So, a compromise between good taste and failed expectations…I give it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Gramma Gucci
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe although I am not an authority on SF Sourdough bread. The texture is great and the flavor is nice but I think I might put only one tbsp of sugar next time because I like a more sour taste. My starter is 2 months old and works well so I decreased the yeast to one scant teaspoon but increased my starter to 2 cups.(Just increased the rising times) I have never made sourdough with milk but it makes a nice soft fluffy bread. I made 2 baguettes and one round with onion topping, sauteed first as another reviewer suggested and it is amazing!! Also I slashed the tops first before the final rising instead of just before baking and I am very pleased with the results. The round usually sinks a bit after slashing and often results in a much flatter bread no matter how careful I am. Slashing before the final rise gave me a beautiful high loaf! I will definitely use this as one of my regular recipes thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Gucci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Deelicious! I used this recipe because it calls for so much starter and I didn't want to have to throw any away. The flavor was just a little sour, more yeasty, but it was nice having a fast, enriched sourdough bread for a change. Didn't do the onion part. I baked my loaves in a preheated dutch oven, smeared with lots of butter. Next time I'll use loaf pans because this bread makes such wonderful toasted sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States