San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JNRey
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Really soft and moist with a nice crust. Not sure how much I like the sugar, because it tends to make it taste more like a French bread. My starter was only 7 days old, so it might be that it was not sour enough to balance it out. I'm going to try this recipe again when the starter gets older and hope that it will balance with the added sugar and the natural sugars in the milk. If not, then I'll lessen the added sugar and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I haven't tried this yet, but I agree with KendraSF almost completely and will try it when I get my new starter. One thing I have learned though is that because the starter is using the wild "germs" in the air when you move the starter will change flavors. For example, the starter I had when I moved from the San Francisco bay area made bread that tasted like SF sour dough for the first time I used it. Afterwards it lost that flavor. It was disappointing but it continued to make great bread and pancakes for many years til my husband threw it out when we were moving. I moved him out for a while - only a while. ;=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
OMG, I made bread! This was my first attempt and after reading all the different things to adjust, I admit I was somewhat terrified. However... I used the sourdough starter video as my jumping off place (I let it ferment on the counter for about 5 days without feeding it) and then used this recipe. After sifting through the suggestions these are the ones I took: I used warm water instead of milk, only used two cups of flour before turning it out to knead (which probably added another cup during the 9 minutes of kneading I did). I think the egg wash (egg white + water) should either be left off or used on the entire loaf because it looked a little silly by only putting a little on the top. Next time I will add a little water in a pie pan to the oven because I think I like the idea of "steam" in the oven while cooking (I simply forgot to do it). I used my silicone baking pads instead of oiling the baking sheets and then put the loaves directly on a cooling rack straight from the oven. The consistency is more like good white bread, but it definitely has that "sour" taste I was going for. I ended up with two regular sized round loaves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe was a descent starting point. Following the recipe exactly was yummy, but with modifications, it can be even better! If you want a bigger cell structure like what you find in SF or in other artisan breads, you want the dough to be kind of goopy so you can barely handle it. After the initial 1 cup, I put around 2 cups instead of the 3.75 is calls for. Don't punch it down! Handle gently to keep the air bubbles. In the morning I let it rise for the suggested hour so it is easier to handle, carefully form it into balls, and let it rise all day tented under a towel so it's ready for dinner. Huge air bubbles throughout, nice and soft, and ready so scoop and soak up my soup! Adding more flour, punching the dough down, and shorter rise time all lead to more dense bread. If that's what you like, disregard this comment. Also, I started using this recipe when I began my starter three months ago. Even when the starter is young and doesn't have much of a funk, this recipe is still good as a not-very-sourdough bread (more like your basic white bread). This recipe is to give the right texture, and YOUR starter is what gives it the right flavor. Once my starter had taken off, I cut out the dry yeast so it wouldn't compete (I think it's included as an insurance policy) and more than halved the sugar to give the bread more oomph. Don't completely cut it out because yeast needs a food source, but 3 Tb is a lot of sweet when you're trying to make sour. 1 Tb will suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I wanted baguettes to serve with beef stew and found this recipe. It was great! I did use water instead of milk as suggested. Half a batch made two baguettes. We had the second one the next day with Swiss fondue. It was maybe even better then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was my first sourdough bread.... fantastic... much easier that I expected and the bread was very good. Thanks Donna for posting and Ester for the starter instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I have a 200 year old sourdough starter which may have added to the taste but this recipe is great. I did make 2 small changes. I did 1/2 c milk and 1/2 c water and I also added an extra 1/2 tsp of salt to make it a total of 3 tsps. Other than that kept everything the same. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Guillen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Fabulous!!! I have had my starter established for only a week...it was growing like crazy and so I decided to use some up. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I didn't have any bread flour on hand and ended up using all purpose. I baked it on a pizza stone and had a water bath underneath. I also added crumbled bacon and onions and worked it into the dough... after the 2nd rise..I popped this baby into the oven...25 mins later it was ready with an amazing crusty crust! This will be my go to recipe for now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
ok flavor but do not make it in bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Hmmm... This came out good but more like a traditional white bread. I used a good starter and followed the recipe. I am new to bread making so I don't know what went wrong. I will try it again but maybe let the dough ferment with my starter before I knead it. I suspect my cold, dry, high altitude environment had a negative effect. Otherwise, the bread is a nice texture. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States