San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
After using this format, the recipe is very good with some modifications. First off, it should never be called SF Sourdough Bread for the same reasons as mentioned before, PLUS - I live in San Francisco, and we rarely see bread served with onion on top of sourdough. Other specialty breads, yes, but to us, that's corrupting the true SF style sourdough. It should simply be called "Onion-Topped Sourdough". Second, I HIGHLY recommend using water instead. Real SF Sourdough never has milk, and use can sugar and sea salt for improved flavor. The yeast is marginal, as it's not often used here. That's supposed to be why the starter is used, but it doesn't rise correctly unless you use 1 cup starter per loaf and extend the rise time out to 2-3 hours in a warm oven. Also use Unbleached flour for denser bread (more like SF). Next, use ONLY the egg white to lightly brush on top of the loaf right before baking, not with the yolk. Last, there's no mention in the recipe what to do with the last Tbsp of water. I'd omit that, as the egg white does not need water added. If you want closer to authentic SF Sourdough, don't use the onion. After those modifications, you'll have a great loaf! You're getting tips direct from a SF born and raised bread lover.. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I haven't tried this recipe yet, I just wanted to point out that sourdough starters made in different places have different levels of sour flavor - my starter will taste differently than one made in another state, for example. Therefore, unless you're IN San Fran, you're unlikely to make a sourdough that tastes like San Fran sour; this may explain why some folks think the recipe produces bread that is not sour enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Unfortunatly, my established starter was dumped down the drain by a well meaning daughter-in-law so this was made with a newly established starter. It only had a mild "tang" but I would suspect that was because of my immature starter. The texture of the bread was awesome. If you spray water on your oven walls a few times in the first few minutes of baking,the steam will encourage a thicker and crustier crust. It also helps to put a shallow pan containing water on the bottom rack and leave it during baking. This makes lovely loaves and can't wait to try it when I have a good strong starter. Thanks for the recipe, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I used the "Sourdough Starter" by Esther Nelson, from this website. I replaced 1-1/4c of the bread flour with 1c of King Arthur Whole Wheat White Flour (for healthier bread), and 1/4c of vital wheat gluten (to help with rising). I used butter rather than margarine. And rather than an egg/water wash, I brushed butter on the loaves after they were done baking, and omitted the onion topping this time. I formed this into two baguettes. They had a distinct sourdough flavor, and a great texture with a good crusty crust and soft inside! Thanks so much, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
Excellent sourdough bread. Makes wonderful croutons. Used the "Sourdough Starter II" recipe for starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cave Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
As usual, I'll share my KitchenAid Mixer version. My starter is 20 years old and came from King Arthur Flour. Several times it has been put to sleep by dehydrating and reawakened. The current one is only 4 weeks old. The day before I bakes I took 3/4 cup of starter from the fridge and added 3/4 cup warm water and 1 cup AP flour. Set it 6 feet from my wood stove and let it awake overnight. I now had a bubbly 2 cups of starter. Followed the directions to end of sentence in line one (except reserved the salt and used only 1 tbs sugar) and then into the mixer bowl with the dough hook. Added 1 cup flour at a time until I hit 4 cups of flour and then slow speed for 6 minutes. Turned the dough out onto my lightly floured bread board and l inverted the bowl over the top for 20 minutes. This 1st rest period is called the autolyse. Remove the bowl, flatten out the dough with your hands, and sprinkle about 1/2 the salt over it. Begin kneading the salt into the dough. After a few turns, sprinkle on the rest of the salt and continue to knead for 2 to 4 minutes, until the salt is completely incorporated and the dough is soft and smooth. When done with step 3...try this variation. Instead of chopped onion I VERY thinly slice an onion and sautee w/ butter and 1 tbs fresh thyme for 8 minutes. Even though it may look like lots use it all sprinkled over the top of the bread, then bake as timed. The tips may blacken but the taste is awesome. I do not do an egg wash with the thyme/onion mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breadguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exeter, Maine, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This is by far the best sourdough bread I've made. I place sesame seeds on top instead of chopped onion, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This didn't taste like sour dough bread but it DID taste like good white bread. I blame my starter for this b/c it was only 3 days old. I will try it again in a few weeks and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
The bread was good! I am new to sourdough so my started needed to be a little better. The recipe was easy and tasty! I'd definitly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This was a good bread but it didn't taste like sourdough bread and I used a great sourdough starter. If I was to rate this as a white bread then I would give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States