San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Yummy! I followed this recipe to a "T" and it turned out great! SO good fresh out of the oven with some butter. Can't wait to make the next loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I take three days to make this bread. The first day, I measure out my starter and add 3 TBLS flour, stir (leave it chunky!), and let rest until day two. On day two, I mix up my dough, using water instead of milk, oil instead of butter, 1 full TBLS of salt instead of 2.5 tsp., and I add 1/4 C vital wheat gluten. I use my KA mixer, add all the ingredients except the last 3-ish cups of the flour, and using the paddle beat the out of the batter to get the gluten forming. I add the rest of the flour, knead, put it in an oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight for a slow rise. On day three, I remove from fridge, form my loaves, let rise, and bake. If I'm feeling extra-adventurous, I form the loaves, cover, and refrigerate them overnight for another slow rise. I don't use the onion or egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a wonderful delicious bread. It had a light tang to it due to the sourdough starter. However, it did not have the density that I would expect from a San Francisco Sourdough. Instead, it was light and the mouth feel was more like the French bread that they bake in the grocery stores (though the taste of this was much better). My husband loved the taste and texture of this bread, and I do, too, it's just not a true sourdough to me. I baked two loaves specifically for use in grilled cheese sandwiches. Again, my husband thought the texture was great, but I didn't think it held up well to hardier ingredients (there's no way, for instance, that this would work for a sourdough burger). Although I'm only giving it 4 stars, I will make this bread again. It's a good every day bread, especially for kids (my daughter doesn't like crust but was willing to eat it on this bread). I missed the chewiness of a true sourdough, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used my bread machine to mix and knead this dough and it came out wonderful! It was enough to make one loaf and four smallish bread-bowl sized loaves. I did not use the egg wash or the onion, but I did put a ramekin of water in the oven with the bread. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Good bread! I used a new starter (6 days old) so the flavour was not super sour-doughy but still very good. I made one with onions and one without and the one with onions was much more flavourful. Will update if changes with an older or better starter. Thankds for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
A delicious bread. Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This bread is amazing! It was easy to make and my family loved it! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I just remove my sourdough from the oven and they look beautiful and my husband just cut one of those and said that this is great, the taste of sour is not strong even if I let my starter for 2 weeks. The texture and flavor still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as stated. I did have to let the dough rise longer than stated but its winter in Michigan so that could have something to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grrrlgone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Made it this morning, loved it. I think the starter really makes it more or less like sourdough. BUT i thought mine was just a little too dense and compact, any ideas for a lighter fluffier bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States