San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Gramma Gucci
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe although I am not an authority on SF Sourdough bread. The texture is great and the flavor is nice but I think I might put only one tbsp of sugar next time because I like a more sour taste. My starter is 2 months old and works well so I decreased the yeast to one scant teaspoon but increased my starter to 2 cups.(Just increased the rising times) I have never made sourdough with milk but it makes a nice soft fluffy bread. I made 2 baguettes and one round with onion topping, sauteed first as another reviewer suggested and it is amazing!! Also I slashed the tops first before the final rising instead of just before baking and I am very pleased with the results. The round usually sinks a bit after slashing and often results in a much flatter bread no matter how careful I am. Slashing before the final rise gave me a beautiful high loaf! I will definitely use this as one of my regular recipes thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Gucci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Deelicious! I used this recipe because it calls for so much starter and I didn't want to have to throw any away. The flavor was just a little sour, more yeasty, but it was nice having a fast, enriched sourdough bread for a change. Didn't do the onion part. I baked my loaves in a preheated dutch oven, smeared with lots of butter. Next time I'll use loaf pans because this bread makes such wonderful toasted sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Love everything about this recipe, except for one thing: I can't add nearly the amount of flour the recipe specifies! Maybe it is a matter of how wet your sour dough starter is, but my dough is about right when I've added three cups of bread flour, rather than the 4-3/4 called for in the recipe. I also add two tablespoons of vital wheat gluten, to make the dough rise better and be lighter in texture. Of all the sourdough recipes I've tried, this is the one my family prefers! I did a side-by-side taste test with three different recipes, and every member of my family liked this one best. Great flavor, light texture, nice crust. . . If you are an inexperienced baker, add the flour slowly. If you are using a dough hook, watch for when the dough begins to form a ball around the hook, and cleans the sides of the bowl. If you stop the mixer, it should relax into the bowl, but still hold a shape, rather than look like a stiff batter. Softer doughs will give a more tender bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I had to use 2 cups of starter to get it to pull together, other than that it turned out great. I did omit the onion because true sourdough bread has none. The flavor was excellent. Those people who have said that it did not have a true sourdough flavor should blame their starter not the recipe. If you are working with a young starter, it is not going to have the deep sourdough flavor. My starter is over 25 years old so I found exactly what I was looking for with this recipe. Thanks for sharing, it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Love this sourdough bread, though the sourdough taste is very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Makes -great- toast. The onion compliments well, and for next loaf I am going to mix in 1/4 cup minced onion. I wonder what baking in fresh garlic from my garden would add? One tweak at a time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I baked in a Romertopf Clay Pot so it had a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
First of all, I have a well established starter to work with, so that helps. This recipe is awesome! I don't put onions on top, but other wise, I follow it exactly with perfect results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika55734

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was very good. I used this recipe to make two loaves with my week-old starter. I made it completely by hand, and found the hour rise was not quite enough, despite being in my oven with the light on. I also found the 30 minutes bake time too long. A couple weeks later, I made this recipe with my KitchenaAid, and shaped them into large kaiser rolls. Delicious with our pulled pork sandwiches! Maybe it was because my starter had aged, or because I let the dough rise for over two hours each stage. Either way, I cooked the rolls for 13 minutes at 375 degrees....perfect! (and I skipped the onion and egg wash both times). Will save to my favorites as a go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerrillCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cz375hh
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is our go to #1 will not fail bread--Herman is maturing and keeps getting better. Made 2 loaves for our family & friends Easter dinner gathering. Lots of compliments, request for the recipe, and a nice tally of people getting up for seconds and thirds of just bread which does not need butter.Will submit a photo later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States