San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! I have a 200 year old sourdough starter which may have added to the taste but this recipe is great. I did make 2 small changes. I did 1/2 c milk and 1/2 c water and I also added an extra 1/2 tsp of salt to make it a total of 3 tsps. Other than that kept everything the same. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Guillen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Fabulous!!! I have had my starter established for only a week...it was growing like crazy and so I decided to use some up. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I didn't have any bread flour on hand and ended up using all purpose. I baked it on a pizza stone and had a water bath underneath. I also added crumbled bacon and onions and worked it into the dough... after the 2nd rise..I popped this baby into the oven...25 mins later it was ready with an amazing crusty crust! This will be my go to recipe for now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
ok flavor but do not make it in bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Hmmm... This came out good but more like a traditional white bread. I used a good starter and followed the recipe. I am new to bread making so I don't know what went wrong. I will try it again but maybe let the dough ferment with my starter before I knead it. I suspect my cold, dry, high altitude environment had a negative effect. Otherwise, the bread is a nice texture. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was really great! I didn't get the rise I was hoping for, resulting in a slightly flat loaf, but it was still nice and slightly sour. I used less flour because of my dry climate and skipped the onions. I'll try them in the future, just wanted the pure experience. This was good fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Mine took more like an hour and a half to double in size, but it did eventually; I'm not sure if this is because my starter isn't as active as it should be? I made these last night just before bed, so I let them cool overnight and decided to try a "small sample" this morning: I ended up eating the whole loaf for breakfast! Delicious and really fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was my first time ever baking bread. After lots of research I chose this recipe & the sourdough starter recipe from this site by Esther. My starter was 3 weeks old. I used my kitchenaid mixer so took a lot of tips from the breadguy's review. The bread came out FANTASTIC! If you're using a stand mixer then follow the tips from the breadguy's review. THANKS BREADGUY & DONNA! I'll make this again following the same directions except next time I'll use water instead of milk just to test out the differences. I also left off the onion. I'm not a big fan of onion on bread but it still came out great. My very picky husband & daughter loved it! Oh yes, it was sour. I'm excited to see what it will taste like as the starter ages more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Tried cooking for the first time for my Food Microbiology class. Turned out way better than hoped. I do want to point out that all sourdough could be nicknamed San Francisco sourdough because the bacteria that gives its distinctive taste is called Lactobacillus Sanfranciscensis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Amazing worked perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have never baked bread before this. It was my first time and it has turned out great every time I make it! I didn't use any egg or onion. I wanted a more plain bread and I love it. I even forgot the sugar once and it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States