San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Luv it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brown eyed girl in NC
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Like everybody says, this is a great recipe.I like the crunch I get from a 425 oven so I used water not milk and added 2 tbl whole milk powder to the flour. I also used Saf instant yeast,2 tsp,and a hot Dutch oven. I have severe tendonitis so kneading dough is out of the question. I'd like to pass along to others that may have hand/wrist problems that you can make this bread to perfection without kneading. I also increased the water by 1/2 a cup for this method. Use a stand mixer w/paddle and pour all the wets in there and mix around. Then (honestly) dump 1/2 your dry on top, mix a couple seconds, change to the hook and dump the rest of the dry in there and mix for about 60 seconds. Until combined. Then let that sit for 20 minutes covered.No punching down I knead with the hook. Here & there stop and pull the dough down from the top of the hook, at times I kept the bowl at half mast while running, but the total machine time was about 5 min. Rest in the bowl again 20 min,then knead with hook again for a few more min then take out the dough and just gently stretch (on floured counter) with your fingertips making a thick disk, then hold it up letting the weight do the stretching for you. Grab fat parts, hang, grab,turn..plop on counter fold stretching edges to middle to make a ball then rest 20 min Then do it all again twice & follow recipe here out. Sounds like a lot but when you can't knead...This only adds 20 min to the recipe. No egg wash 'cause of the temp but here it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have made this 4 times using a friends starter I have managed to keep alive. It makes very good bread. It is soft but not overly airy. The crust is very nice and not too stiff. Did not use the onions. It makes excellent french toast for just those reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Not enough sour flavor. Mostly because you add a lot more liquid and flour than the starter, so it is basically watering the starter down. It does rise really fast compared to a traditional sourdough bread. Also, for some reaaon my loaf was really crumbly. Not sure if that is me or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
UPATE: Made this bread again, yesterday, and it flopped! I am not giving up that easy, and will try again... Perhaps my starter, but bread came out like ordinary bread... no sour taste whatsoever and as I read he reviews after the fact, one mentioned that sourdough no milk... makes sense as all the other recipes I have been working with have never called for milk... UPDATE: I have done some research and read many people responses to the bread not being sour enough and it isn't caused by the recipe, it's the starter. I accidently killed my last starter and this one was born on Sept 27. I am confused through, because not only does the starter look fantastic at which point I would use for recipes, it also has a strong, very strong, sourdough smell. Going forward, I will play around with the starter by ensuring the feed is at least 8 hours prior to using and perhaps proofing in the oven for the final rise with some moisture, although this bread actually looked exactly what I'd want in a sourdough. I will update once more when I get it... I will also, perhaps, change my rating to reflect the outcome. I've seen that the people that have made and enjoyed this bread far out way those of those that didn't so perhaps I am not doing something right. Many thanks to all your posts that have given me more knowledge and insight on what I need to be doing... please feel free to post some other ideas you may have that can help. It would definitely be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barrera Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Very tasty - very good sourdough flavor and smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
For bread in general, this was good bread. Easy to make with consistent texture, great for sandwiches or French toast. For sourdough, however, it was pretty bad. Very little sour taste; in fact I would not have been able to identify it as sourdough if I hadn't added the starter myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I must say I have a weakness for bread and this one did NOT disappoint! The only thing I done differently was added a tablespoon of lemon juice and 2 tablespoons of dough enhancer. I read on another forum that lemon juice along with dough enhancer helped during the rising process. I baked it in two normal size bread pans Half way through the baking process I had to take the bread out and remove one of my racks because it was so tall. I ended up putting it on the lower rack in the oven and it baked wonderfully. I couldn't really taste the sour dough taste but, I blame that on my starter not being very old. I thought the lemon juice would help the starter create that tangy taste of sour dough but, I couldn't taste the lemon in it at all. However I will use the lemon juice and dough enhancer from now on because I am really impressed with how well it worked. I am going to try it again in a few weeks when my starter matures a little more because I think it will only get better. As for now it still deserves 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Really like this recipe. I just need to let my starter sit longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Thanks "breadguy" I am new at this and am using my son's KitchenAid so your tips are very timely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States