San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
thank you so much for this great recipy that takes less time than others and can be comleted in one day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This bread turned out well, although it tasted and felt more like a good French bread. Could have been because my starter only sat for 48 hours before I used it. Next time I will let it sit for up to five days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Photo by hrblindberg
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My new go-to bread recipe! I ran out of White Bread Flour, so I substituted the last cup of flour with Whole Wheat Bread Flour. It turned out wonderful, so I did it again the second time I made the bread. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrblindberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I liked this originally, The second time I made it I did not add the butter and got a much better crust. I can take or leave the onions, does not really add much to the sourdough. I use this with a whole wheat starter then white flour for the remaining, two teaspoons of malted barley really increases the lift a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Mine isn't rising.I don't know if it's my starter or what.Help..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
very very good,better than my last sourdough recipe. i got 2 kind sour dough starter and it produce 2 similar but different result. but booth turn out really good and i'm please about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I have made this a couple times now! This morning my husband, Who spent MANY years in Germany and LOVES his German style breads, told me this is the best bread he has eaten since he returned home from Germany many years ago! He is already asking me to start more! I made 1 loaf w/onions and 1 w/out and we love them both. Going to add MORE onions next time! Some people might say it is not "TRUE San Fracisco sourdough", Oh Well!!! It is still AMAZING! Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARIHARDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Outlook, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
We made this using whole wheat starter and substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white flour. Absolutely delicious! Light color and texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I tried this recipe and it turned out wonderfully! I've been making sourdough with (only) starter for about 10 months and it has been very good !- But this recipe has transformed it into a softer more mouth friendly loaf of bread!! I guess purists would say its a hybrid.. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larrisb

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Nice and soft on the inside and a crispy crust. This had great flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States